Ballycreelley is named as All-Ireland Flock

Alex McCarthy picking up the Rademon Cup for best Breeding Ewes from Judge Philip Derryman, 2nd place Allen McFadden.

Alex McCarthy picking up the Rademon Cup for best Breeding Ewes from Judge Philip Derryman, 2nd place Allen McFadden.

The Hampshire Down Club recently held its Annual dinner and flock competition awards at the Valley Hotel, Fivemiletown.

After a delightful meal, Club Chairman Lee York welcomed members and guests before calling upon the judge Philip Derryman from Honiton in Devon. Philip is a grandson of Henry Derryman who runs the long established prize winning Yarcombe flock.

Philip was selected to travel to New Zealand in Oct 2011 to represent England in the Young Shepherds World Challenge. Philip and his team mate Alistair Graham won the overall team competition, Philip ranked world No 2. Overall in the individual competition.

Philip and his partner Rose started their judging in Co Cork on Tuesday 2nd October finishing in Co Fermanagh on the Friday. He said he had thoroughly enjoyed judging the flock competition.

The Moybrick Shield for the Provita sponsored Champion Flock was awarded to Comber breeders Kevin and Anna McCarthy for their Ballycreelley Flock, taking first place in the large flock section, along with first place in the breeding ewes category, first in the Best Group of Stock Rams and second place in the Best Group of ewe lambs.

The Reserve Champion Flock award, also sponsored by Provita was presented to Allen and Vicky McFadden for their Ashley Flock which was first in the Small flock category, second in the Best Stock Rams and second in the Best Individual Rams.

Best Southern Regional Winner sponsored by Provita was John Burke’s Awbeg Flock from Mallow, Co. Cork which also claimed first in the Medium Flock, third in the breeding ewe category and third in the ewe lamb category.

Best individual Stock ram was won by Alymer Power, Co. Limerick who also claimed third in the Best Stock Rams Section.

The Moneycarragh Trophy for the Best Novice Flock was won by first time entrant Tony McGrath of Dungannon.

Club Chairman Lee York thanked Philip and Rose for coming to Ireland to judge the flock competition. Special thanks was made to Provita for its generous sponsorship and to all the members who supported and entered the event.

Competition results:

Winner of the Moybrick, Overall Champion: Kevin and Anna McCarthy, Comber.

Overall Reserve Champion: Allen and Vicky, McFadden, Banbridge.

Overall Southern Regional Winner: John Burke, Mallow, Co. Cork.

Moybrick Shield for Large Flock: 1st Kevin and Anna McCarthy.

Edenderry Shield for Medium Flock: 1st John Burke, 2nd Sean and Gillian Doyle, Katesbridge, 3rd Lee and Jenny York, Florencecourt.

Moybrick Shield for Small Flock - 1st Allen and Vicky McFadden, 2nd Alymer Power, Co. Limerick, 3rd Elizabeth Robinson and daughters, Donaghadee.

Rademon Cup for Best Breeding Ewes: 1st Kevin and Anna McCarthy, 2nd Allen and Vicky McFadden, 3rd John Burke.

The Southborne Trophy for Best Group of Stock Rams: 1st Kevin and Anna McCarthy, 2nd Allen and Vicky McFadden, 3rd Alymer Power, Co. Limerick.

The Ballycreelley Crystal Trophy for Best Individual Stock Ram: 1st Alymer Power, 2nd Allen and Vicky McFadden, 3rd Sean and Gillian Doyle.

The Derryman Cup for Best Ewe Lambs: 1st Alymer Power, 2nd Kevin and Anna McCarthy, 3rd John Burke.

The Moneycarragh Trophy for Best Novice Flock: 1st Tony McGrath, Dungannon, 2nd Mervyn and Peter Lyttle, Dromore 3rd Kyle Brown, Dromore.


Back to the top of the page


X scottish independence image

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Referendum news