New faces at committee level

Mr David Brown, UFU Vice President was the guest speaker at the group’s AGM held recently.

Stephen Meredith
Stephen Meredith

Alan McConnell, a Dairy and Poultry producer from Lisnadill just outside Armagh, was elected as group chairman with Raymond Pogue from Benburb elected as vice-chairman for the period 2020-2022.

Members elected to chair the group commodity committees of the union were as follows: Joe McCarragher, Creeveroe - Beef and Lamb, Stephen Hamilton, Collone - Milk, Keith Emerson, Derryraine - Pork and Bacon, James Speers, Mullabrack - Hill Farming and Rural Development, Ian Brownlee, Loughgall - Potatoes, Joe McCarragher, Richhill - Seeds and Cereals, Chris Keys, Aghavilly - Poultry, Diane Irwin, Tynan - Rural Affairs, Joe Johnston, Hamiltonsbawn - Legislation and Kenneth Gilpin, Portadown - Vegetables.

The group continues to function albeit with staff working mainly from home and are still contactable on 02837522649 or mobiles.

Robert and Ben Starrett, Alan McConnell,Chris Keys and Raymond Pogue.

Everyone appreciates and accepts the additional challenges that Covid-19 has presented and the main concern for group staff and officeholders is that everyone acts responsibly to keep people safe and well.

The UFU continues to represent its members in this crisis and should anyone have issues or concerns please contact the relevant person either at HQ, the group office or any of the aforementioned elected representatives who will be only too happy to help.

Following the AGM the 2019 silage awards were announced and cups presented to: Stephen Meredith, Tandragee - Beef and Sheep,Robert and Chris Keys, Aghavilly - Under 1000 tons dairy and Robert and Mark Starrett, Armagh - Over 1000 tons dairy.

The Big Bale winner was Keith Watson, Keady who was placed 2nd overall in the NI final sponsored by United Feeds. Congratulations to all of last year’s winners and thanks goes to the sponsors T.Cornett, Agri Supplies, Portadown, John Bell, Agricultural Merchant,Camagh, Keady and ATM (Lislea Mills) Armagh for their continued financial support.