Alex and Sinead get their hands on open titles at Shane’s Castle

Judith McKeever has her eyes on a prize
Judith McKeever has her eyes on a prize

A great weekend was had by all at horse driving trials hosted by the Randalstown Carriage Driving Club, held at Shane’s Castle, Antrim last weekend.

The two-day event was organised by Terry Logan and Eddie Ingram and enjoyed large entry, with 33 competitors, their grooms and the many spectators enjoying the wonderful estate.

The event was blessed with wonderful weather, allowing everyone to enjoy both the competition and the evening entertainment, which included a Hog Roast prepared by Sara Clingan.

Dressage was held on Saturday, with Alex Bryson and Dorothy Kelly taking the honours for achieving the lowest dressage score overall.

Following Dressage, the cones section presented a lengthy and challenging course, although the majority of competitors made the time allowed. There were only three double clears, coming from Sarah Hughes, a visiting competitor from County Wicklow, Gail Bailie, and Jeffery Lyons.

Marathon day came round on Sunday. It was another excellent marathon course, with plenty of beautiful views in the early sections around the estate.

Overall, a great weekend of sport and fun was had by all who attended, and the NICDA would like to extend many thanks and congratulations to the Randalstown Carriage Driving Club for a fantastic event, which just gets better every year. Huge thanks goes also to the O’Neill family for allowing access to their estate.

NICDA’s next, and final event of the season will be Northern Ireland Carriage Driving Championships, held at Scarva House Stud, Banbridge on 16-18 August.

In true three day format, Dressage will be held from 2pm on Friday, Marathon from 1pm Saturday (Open to all, free entry, free parking) and championships will conclude with cones on Sunday.

For more information visit


All-sorts Small Pony: 1 – Sarah Hughes.

All Sorts: 1 - Alexandra McConnell; 2 - Lauren Ferguson; 3 – Gail Bailie.

Novice Pony: 1 - Linda Applebe; 2 - Judith Lyttle; 3 - Judith McKeever.

Novice Horse: 1- Jim McCrae.

Open Pony: 1 - Sinead McIntyre; 2 – Jeffery Lyons; 3 - Des Sheridan

Open Horse: 1 - Alex Bryson; 2 - Alex Bryson; 3 - Dorothy Kelly.

Pony Pairs: 1 - Rachel Campbell; 2 - Eddie Ingram; 3 - John Goodwin.

Horse pairs: 1 - Ger Hennessy; 2 - Robert McNeill.

Pony teams: 1 - Richard Logan; 2 - Brian O’Slattera; 3 – Martin Spillane.