Alex is private drive champion

editorial image

The 17th Annual BDS Ballynahinch Carriage Driving Festival Show took place on Saturday 30th May 2015 in Langley Road Playing Fields, Ballynahinch, by kind permission of Newry, Mourne and Down Council.

The weather was bright and a good number of spectators and competitors enjoyed the day.

The judge chosen from the British Driving Society Panel of Judges was Mr. Gordon Marks (England) with Show Ring Steward Mr. R.J. McConnell and Show Director Mr. Robert Smyth – vice chairman Northern Ireland Branch – British Driving Society.

Stewards Mr. John Powell, Mr. David Newell, Mr. Paul King, Mr. David Ward and Mr. Eugene Larkin had a busy day.

The Hon. Jim Shannon M.P. (Strangford) judged the Concours D’elegance Class.

Margaret Carlisle was show Hon. Secretary and Mrs. Celine Larkin hospitality hostess.

Waterford Crystal was presented to all the Championship winners.

The sponsors were Ballynahinch Credit Union and Margaret Carlisle.

Private driving championship winner: Alex Presho (Brookeborough) driving Norman Brown’s ‘Rosehall Tara Maiden’ to a Stanhope Gig

Reserve Champion: Liz Kelly-Ward driving ‘Fronarth Flashman’ to a varnished for wheel Phaeton

In hand champion: James Cleland (Hannahstown) ‘Budore Black Prince’

Reserve Champion: David Cleland ‘Budore Joseph’

Exercise vehicle champion: John Weir (Ballyclare) ‘Milltown Boy’

Reserve Champion: Wallace Shaw (Castlewellan) ‘Clarvalley Sunbeam’

Hackney horse driven to a Show Wagon: Champion: James Cleland ‘Glenshane Dandy’

Reserve champion: Linda Skillen driving George Cunnimngham’s ‘Luddington Isabella’


Class 1 - In hand Mountain and Moreland – any height won by David Cleland ‘Budore Black Jack’: 2nd, David Cleland ‘Budore Joseph’: 3rd, Kayne McCormick ‘Buster’

Class 2 Exercise vehicle – any height- 1st John Weir (Ballyclare) ‘Milltown Boy’: 2nd, Wallace Shaw (Castlewellan) ‘Clarvalley Sunbeam’: 3rd, Liz Kelly-Ward (Ballyward) ‘Fronarth Del Boy’.

Class 3 Single non Hackney type driven to a traditional type vehicle won by Alex Presho driving Norman Brown’s ‘Rosehall Tara Maiden’ to a Stanhope Gig: 2nd, Liz Kelly Ward ‘Froanrth Flashman’ to a varnished four wheel Phaeton: 3rd, Martin Tierney (Lurgan) ‘Rock more Grace’ to a Ralli Car

Class 4 Novice horse driven first Jonathan Carnduff (Millisle) ‘Dellorto’ to a four wheel show Phaeton

Class 6 Single pure bred-REG WELSH Section A,B,C, and D driven to a Traditional type vehicle won by Alex Presho driving ‘Teddies All Gold’ (Section D) to a Stanhope Gig: 2nd, Mervyn Ward driving ‘Fronarth Navigator’ a Welsh section ‘D’ to Liam Rooney’s Pickering Float

Class 7 Country turnouts 1st Martin Tierney (Lurgan) driving ‘Rock more Grace’ to a Ralli Car:

Class 8 Hackney horse driven to a Show wagon winner James Cleland driving ‘Glenshane Dandy’: 2nd Linda Skillen (Newry) driving George Cunningham’s ‘Luddington Isabella’: 3rd William McDowell (Ballymena) ‘Renvyle Grasshopper’

Class 9 Hackney pony driven to a show wagon won by Daryl Cadoo (Dungannon) driving ‘Hartland and Awl’

Class 10 Concours D’elegance (In Memory of WG Alexander) judged by the Hon. Jim Shannon M.P. for Strangford winner Liz. Kelly-Ward driving ‘Fronarth Flashman’ to a varnished four wheel Phaeton

Class 11 Lady Whip – judged on the ability of the Lady driving any type of turnout- won by Liz Kelly-Ward driving ‘Fronarth Flashman’: 2nd Jenny Lyttle ‘Migrera Lollipop’

Class 12 Junior whip won by Ruairi Creighton (Saintfield) accompanied by groom Denis O’Neill driving ‘Felix’ to a London Trolley: 2nd, John Weir jnr. accompanied by his father as groom driving ‘Milltown Boy’ to an Exercise Vehicle: 3rd, Lewis Orr with groom Mervyn Ward driving ‘Fronarth Del Boy’ to a four wheel event vehicle

Class 13 Light trade 1st Alex Presho driving Norman Brown’s ‘Rosehall Tara Queen’ to Massey The Buthcher of Saintfield Butcher’s Cart: 2nd, Ruairi Creighton ‘Felix’ to a London Trolley: 3rd, John Weir ‘Milltown Boy’ to a Norfolk Milk Float.

St John’s Ambulance was in attendance, ‘Mr. Munchies Hot Food Van’ supplied the hot food and The Marquee and barriers erected by Ballynahinch Branch The Lions Club.

The show was organised by the Northern Ireland Branch – British Driving Society of which Mr. Eugene Larkin is Chairman and Margaret Carlisle Hon. Secretary.

Mr. Graham Smyth Chairman of the BDS Ballynahinch International Carriage Driving Festival Show Committee thanks all who helped in any way to make the day a success.