Carnaff Julie jingles all the way

All prize winners with Kenneth Irwin, of Bluegrass Horse Feeds - sponsor.
All prize winners with Kenneth Irwin, of Bluegrass Horse Feeds - sponsor.

Treacherous weather conditions did not deter Clydesdale enthusiasts who turned out in force at Ballymena Livestock Market on Saturday, December 12, for the Co Londonderry Horse Breeding Society’s Annual Clydesdale Foal Show.

Exhibitors braved the elements and travelled from all parts of the province, joined by many spectators both local and from the mainland. The task of judging this year’s show was taken on by Ronald Brewster from the famous Bandirran Stud in Scotland.

Champion - Jannine Dunlop and Patrick McKay with Carnaff Julie

Champion - Jannine Dunlop and Patrick McKay with Carnaff Julie

The overall ribbons went to Jannine and Scott Dunlop from Co Londonderry with their February born senior filly foal, Carnaff Julie. Julie is sired by the well known Scottish Stallion Dillars Scottie Boy with her dam being Inny Chloe. She was produced on the day for the Dunlop’s by her breeders the McKay family from Carnaff, Ballymoney.

Reserve overall went to the senior champion, yearling filly Downhill Lady Linda, put through her paces by owner Robin Kerr, ably assisted by her breeder Geoffrey Tanner. She is sired by Glebeview Sir Charles with her dam being Arclid Shona.

Best Opposite Sex to the Overall Champion went to Senior Colt Foal winner Churchill Sir James, bred and exhibited by James Irwin, Churchill, Coleraine. Sired by Dillars Scottie Boy and his dam being Highcairn Gracey.

Reserve champion Foal went to Pat and Patrick O’Boyle, Portglenone with the second prize senior filly foal, Rosegift Lady Sally. Sally is also sired by Glebeview Sir Charles with her dam being Magheraorty Isabel.

Reserve Senior Champion went to the Hanna family with the 2nd prize yearling filly, Macfin Sweet Melody. Melody is again by Glebeview Sir Charles with her dam being Kirkhouse Amazing Grace.

The class of three eager Young Handlers was won by Craig Hanna (Macfin), with second place going to Clarice Taggart (Ballaney) who qualified for the final at the Royal Highland Show in 2016, and third prize going to her little sister Bonnie Taggart (Ballaney).

The class results were as follows:

Class 1: Colt/Gelding Two Year Old: 1st, Hillview Braveheart (D and R Ryan).

Class 2: One Year Old Colt/Gelding: 1st, Mollinhillhead Gladiator (John Drummond); 2nd, Charlie (Brian Cockburn).

Class 3: One Year Old Filly: 1st, Downhill Lady Linda (Robin Kerr); 2nd, Macfin Sweet Melody (Messrs. Hanna); 3rd, Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family); 4th, Ballinrees Lady May (Victor Millen); 5th, Cess Lady Rosabell (Clark Mitchell).

Class 4: Senior Colt Foal: 1st, Churchill Sir James (James Irwin); 2nd, Downhill Benji (Geoffrey Tanner); 3rd, Hollybank Royal Scot (Sam McKee).

Class 5: Senior Filly Foal: 1st, Carnaff Julie (J and S Dunlop); 2nd, Rosegift Lady Sally (P and P O’Boyle); 3rd, Oldstone Lady Kathleen (Joe Boyle/Amy Storey).

Class 6: Junior Colt Foal: 1st, Dairylough McLaren (S and V Parke); 2nd, Donnybrewer McGregor (J and S Dunlop); 3rd, Bratlach Ross (John Drummond); 4th, Macfin Real McCoy (Messrs. Hanna); 5th, Milltown Brett (Drew Sinclair); 6th, Castletown Cole (John Cross).

Class 8: Junior Filly Foal: 1st, Bencannon Charlotte (Jennifer Reid); 2nd, Castletown Crystal (John Cross); 4th, Coveys Miss Annie (Eddie Murtagh); 5th, Croaghmore Rihanna (Sandra Henderson); 6th, Ballaney Annie Bell (Taggart family); 7th, Hollybank Queen Victoria (David Patterson); 8th, Balinrees Heather (Victor Millen).

Class 9: Young Handlers: 1st, Craig Hanna (Macfin); 2nd, Clarice Taggart (Ballaney); 3rd, Bonnie Taggart (Ballaney).

Overall Champion - Carnaff Julie (J and S Dunlop)

Reserve Overall Champion - Downhill Lady Linda (R Kerr)

Opp. Sex to Overall Champion - Churchill Sir James (J Irwin)

Senior Champion - Downhill Lady Linda (R Kerr)

Reserve Senior Champion - Macfin Sweet Melody (Messrs Hanna)

Foal Champion - Carnaff Julie (J and S Dunlop)

Reserve Foal Champion - Rosegift Lady Sally (P and P O’Boyle)

Best Foal Bred in Ireland - Carnaff Julie (J&S Dunlop)

Best Foal Bred by Exhibitor - Rosegift Lady Sally (P and P O’Boyle)

Best Foal by a Glebeview Stallion - Rosegift Lady Sally (P and P O’Boyle)

Best Presented Animal - Hillview Braveheart (D and R Ryan)

CLHBS Young Handler - Craig Hanna (Macfin)

CHS Young Handler Qualifier - Clarice Taggart (Ballaney)

The society were honoured to have John Henning, of Danske Bank (main sponsor) to present the overall prizes. Many thanks to Jervis Nutt Esq, Limavady, who contributed generously towards the overall and reserve champion prizes. Also to Kenneth Irwin (Bluegrass Horse Feeds) who kindly sponsored the Senior and Reserve Senior Champion.

Yvonne Hanna (secretary) thanked the society members who annually contribute towards special prizes down through the classes.

The Co Londonderry Horse Breeding Society would like to thank J A McClelland and Sons for the use of their first class facilities, and to the market staff for all their help, before and after the show.

The society’s Christmas raffle draw was drawn during Saturday’s judging. The winners were: 1st prize (£100) Jannine Dunlop; 2nd prize (£75) Kirsten Nixon; 3rd prize (£50) Mark Hutchinson; 4th prize (£25) Karla Urquahart; 5th prize (£25) Nicola White; 6th prize (Painting) Maggi Laverty.

The society wish to thank everyone who supported the raffle, proceeds will be going to Northern Ireland Children’s Hospice.

The Foal Show Social Night was enjoyed by many CLHBS members and friends, thanks go to Craig Black and staff of the Bush Tavern for their hospitality and to John Knox for providing the great music.

The CLHBS would like to wish all their members and supporters a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.


This year the NISA Clydesdale Championship was kindly sponsored by Bluegrass Horse Feeds, the prizes were presented by Kenneth Irwin on Saturday.

The results were as follows:

1st= Carnaff Rose (Darren and Roberta Ryan); Downhill Lady Linda (Geoffrey Tanner); 3rd= Oldstone Master Micky (Amy Storey); 4th= Oldstone Danny Boy – Joe Boyle; Macfin Diamond Queen – Hanna Family; Glebeview Dillon – Victor and Raymond Scott

Well done to all the winners and exhibitors who took part. All the best for the 2016 show season.