Double victory for Ennis and Abbott at testing Tyrella

editorial image

Tyrella Estate was looking vibrant and spectacular for the inaugural Northern Region Event.

The Co Down venue was bathed in sunshine from early morning with breathtaking views of the Mourne mountains sweeping down to the sea.

Adam Stevenson excelled in his cross country course design, creating three superb courses which asked enough questions across the board. The fences were beautifully presented and decorated with ample colourful arrangements provided by Showjumping Course Designer, Aaron McCusker.

The top class of the day, the O/CNC2*, was won by Richhill’s Jayne Doherty on Team Rutledge’s ‘The Only One’. The combination was one of three starters to finish inside the time and they benefitted from the retirement cross country of the first phase leader, Jodie O’Keeffe and Kachemire Le Beau, following a ‘crash’ at Fence 12.

Camilla Speirs, who was sitting in second place after dressage, was eliminated in the cross country for omitting the Skinny off tree at No 7.

Joseph Murphy picked up a win in the CNC2* on board Suzanne Finlay’s eight year old gelding, Fernhill Frankie in a class where showjumping scores had a major impact on results. Jayne Doherty slotted in as runner up on The Precious One which gave her a full house of placings.

Clare Abbott claimed the first of two Tyrella victories in the O/CNC1* class on John Melvin’s seven year old Crosstown Dancer gelding, Glenkeeran River, finishing over three points clear of the early leader, Steven Smith, who lowered a coloured pole with My Ballymac Bay.

Meanwhile, Co Meath’s Sarah Ennis rose to prominence in both of the CNC1* classes. She claimed the ‘A’ section with the Alice Kehoe bred and owned Westwinds Karlos who finished on her dressage score of 27.5 which held the lead by a margin of four over Sharon Riddell and Ringfort India. She also finished on her dressage score of 26 in the ‘B’ section with her own Woodcourt Garrison, ahead of Meghan Healey and Treliver Desdemona.

There were no problems in any phase for Junior rider Lucy Latta on her mother’s DHI Broadway who had a runaway victory in the CNCJ1* class finishing almost fourteen points clear of second placed Adam Haugh with Jessica Harrington’s Jantar.

Symone Brown’s trip from Dublin with Rozel Gold Touch was well worthwhile as she claimed victory in the CNC1* Amateur class, adding just a fraction of a time penalty to her first phase mark which gave them a four point margin over second placed Hannah Whittle and Mullybrannon Masterpiece.

The Scorers had to revert to collectives to allocate the top two placings in the CNCP2* class where the eventual winner was Zara Nelson and Millridge Buachaill Bui with Izzy Riley and Monarch of the Glen slotting into second.

Caroline McQuillan who has made a very welcome return to Eventing followed up her successive wins at the Flexi Eventing with a very well deserved victory in the EI 100 Amateur class where she led from start to finish, as did Camella McDowell and Touching Gold, just half a mark behind the leader.

Clare Abbott picked up her second win of the day in the EI 100 class of 35 starters on Cormac McKay’s six year old gelding, Kudos where she added nothing to her impressive flatwork mark which was over two points clear of Sarah Sproule on her own Lyleview On Time.

The top four in the EI 100 J class finished on their dressage score with Chloe Rooney in the lead with Molly May, followed by William Mackie and Ricardo Colour while the Pre Novice Pony class was won by Emily McQuade and Twilight Oscar with Hannah Adams and Myshall Rodge slotting into second.

Caoimhe Eivers, from Trim Co Meath, impressed the dressage Judge who awarded her a mark of 23.8 which was her completion score in the LAFARGE TARMAC sponsored Intro class giving her a one point margin over Fiona Fitzgibbon riding Kay Magill’s Lisnahall Miss Toffee, a ten year old gelding normally seen flying around the showjumping tracks.

Ruth Wilson who was taking a day off from her duties at Knockaghview was a worthy winner in the EI 90 Amateur class with her fifteen year old gelding, Home Alone City in a class where the showjumping results were very influential. Lynsey Robb, who turned in a Personal Best at the Carlingford Half Marathon earlier in the month, took second place on Glenvine Creg Ny Baa.

The Intro Pony class was last out cross country and they didn’t hang about. Top place on this occasion went to Lauren Gabbie and Just Spencer who finished on their first phase mark almost five points clear of Aimee Roscoe and JD Little Problem.

Northern Region is deeply indebted to David Corbett for the use of the Tyrella Estate which attracted many favourable comments from competitors and visiting public alike.

Thanks, too, to the huge army of volunteers, many of whom travelled a great distance to assist at the first event of the season and without whom the event could not function.

Action continues at Tyrella this coming Saturday, followed by a one week break and then a resumption at Tyrella again for the following two weeks.

Full results

O/CNC2*: Jayne Doherty, The Only One; Steven Smith, Bonito; Clare Abbott, Euro Prince; Camilla Speirs, BT Border Bandit; Jonathan Hagan, Carneyhaugh Conquistador; Jayne Doherty, Ravenstar

CNC2*: Joseph Murphy, Fernhill Frankie; Jayne Doherty, The Precious One; Joseph Murphy, HL Mrs Imp; Michael Ryan, Apogee; Steven Smith, Bellaney Express; Jamie Nolan, Arodstown Aramis

O/CNC1*: Clare Abbott, Glenkeeran River; Steven Smith, My Ballymac Bay; Steven Smith, Ringfort Rubicon; June Burgess, O.B.O.S. Apollo; Melanie Wrynn, Annaghmore Ardeo; Kelley Hutchinson, Ballyduff A-Z

CNC1* A: Sarah Ennis, Westwinds Karlos; Sharon Riddell, Ringfort India; Michael Ryan, What Else; Joseph Murphy, Bellscross Starlight; Declan Cullen, Woodend Harleyhill; Jonathan Steele, Centrestage

CNCJ1*: Lucy Latta, DHI Broadway; Adam Haugh, Jantar; Ella Boyle, Candy 737; Toby Purce, Stan From Meelin; Lucy Lamont, Mellow Gold; Sam Micklem, Smart Spirit

CNC1* B: Sarah Ennis, Woodcourt Garrison; Meghan Healy, Treliver Desdemona; Harold Megahey, Coolrock Gold Dust; Michael Ryan, Rock Masterpiece; Victoria Clarke, Sumas El Greco; Joseph Murphy, The Mistress

CNC1* Amateur: Symone Brown, Rozel Cool Touch; Hannah Whittle, Mullybrannon Masterpiece; Emily Morris, Florida Bud; Fiona Magowan, Dances With Joy

CNCP2*: Zara Nelson, Millridge Buachaill Bui; Izzy Riley, Monarch of the Glen; Zara Nelson, Knockbordan Revelation; Isabel Persse, Mr Blueskies; Timmy Love, Cloughreagh Charlie; Justine Harding, Lucy Bready

EI 100 Amateur: Caroline McQuillan, Mr Brown; Camella McDowell, Touching Gold; Davina Gray, DSL The Mooche; Emma Wallace, Mulla Miracle; Bianca McElnea, Rosso Tramonto; Jessica Finnegan, Wivollet Vanbeek

EI 100: Clare Abbott, Kudos; Sarah Sproule, Lyleview On Time; Michael McNally, Countmein; Casey webb, Beltrium Full Moon; Trevor Smith, Juniper Hill; Trevor Smith, The Maestro 11

EI 100J: Chloe Rooney, Molly May; William Mackie, Ricardo Colour; Holly Wray, Rum and Raisin; Holly McClenaghan, Miranda; Toni Quail, Ringfort Rua; Holly Wray, Lily Mae

EI 100P: Emily McQuade, Twilight Oscar; Hannah Adams, Myshall Rodge; Robyn McCluskey, Blackhill Border Fox

EI 90: Caoimhe Elvers, Stellor Kings Cruise; Fiona Fitzgibbon, Lisnahall Miss Toffee; Christine McNally, Boltown Hemera; India Ryan, Garrybritt Emma; Clare Steele, Tamburini; Leah Jackson, Gemily

EI 90 Amateur: Ruth Wilson, Home Alone City; Lynsey Robb, Glenvine Creg Ny Baa; Joseph Evans, Red Ruby Rouge; Lynne Spence, Jaydious Apollo; Ellen Graham, Lisfuncheon Chinook; Hilary Redmond, Puldoaran

EI 90P: Lauren Gabbie, Just Spencer; Aimee Roscoe, JD Little Problem; Ellie Parkhill, Two Tone Toni; Joanna Eames, Pepper Joe; Ben Rowlatt-McCormick, Newline Golden Secret; Alexandra Cleland, Whisper Grey Dove.