Echoes of Time is champion at Strule Valley

editorial image

Strule Valley Riding Club hosted a Working Hunter competition recently at Ecclesville, Fintona.

The weather was a bit mixed but it didn’t dampen the spirits of the competitors.

The club would like to thank Raymond Caldwell for building a flowing and inviting Working Hunter course, assisted by Alan and Natasha Gilchrist and Alison Donnell. Thanks also to Hayley Patterson from Dungannon for judging both horse and pony classes, Alison Donnell for acting as scribe, Natasha Gilchrist for looking after the entries, Alan Gilchrist call-up and AJ’s event catering.

Moorlough Riding Club members were in fine form winning three out of the four horse classes. Clogher Valley Riding Club member Jenna Coote and the lovely Riley won the 70cm class, Gillian Kearney and Silver Sky won the 80cm class, Kyra Crawford and Proud to be Mylie won the 90cm class with Diane Atcheson and Echoes of Time winning the one metre class.

Little Ellie Mae Johnston and Codlanvalley Charlie Boy won the 60cm pony class. Hollye Walker and Just Dandy won the 70cm class.

The Rosie O’Grady Perpetual Cup was presented to Strule Valley Riding Club member Heather Black. Sadly Rosie, who the cup is a tribute to, passed away peacefully at the grand age of 25 at home with Ann and Noel Regan at the beginning of March, she is sorely missed, an exceptional cob who excelled at everything she turned her hoof to.


70cm horses: 1st – Riley & Jenna Coote; 2nd – Clonleigh Supreme & Louise Slevin; 3rd – Penny & Rebecca McClean; 4th – Bella & Charlene Little; 5th – CJ Star & Dreena Harron; 6th – Platinum Lily & Heather Black

80cm horses: 1st – Silver Sky & Gillian Kearney; 2nd – Anvil Sure Can & Stacey Sproule; 3rd – He’s a Cracker & Darren Preston; 4th – Clonleigh Supreme & Louise Slevin; 5th – Montana & Michael Crawford; 6th – Brady Bud & Jenna McConnell

90cm horses: 1st – Proud to be Mylie & Kyra Crawford; 2nd – Flo Jo & Lynne Russell; 3rd – Silver Sky & Gillian Kearney; 4th – Brady Bud & Jenna McConnell; 5th – Arkan & Darren Preston; 6th – He’s a Cracker & Darren Preston

1 metre horses: 1st – Echoes of Time & Diane Atcheson; 2nd – Proud to be Mylie & Kyra Crawford; 3rd – Flo Jo & Lynne Russell; 4th – Arkan & Darren Preston

Champion Horse – Echoes of Time & Diane Atcheson

Reserve – Riley & Jenna Coote

60cm ponies: 1st – Codlanvalley Charlie Boy & Ellie Mae Johnston; 2nd – Lady T & Ciara Owens

70cm ponies: 1st – Just Dandy & Hollye Walker; 2nd – Lady T & Ciara Owens; 3rd – Codlanvalley Charlie Boy & Ellie Mae Johnston

80cm ponies: 1st – Just Dandy & Hollye Walker

90cm ponies – no entries

Champion Pony – Codlanvalley Charlie Boy & Ellie Mae Johnston

Reserve – Just Dandy & Hollye Walker

The Annual Summer Showjumping League will commence on Wednesday,June 29, at 7pm in Ecclesville. This will run on Wednesdays 6th and 13th July with the final being on Wednesday, July 20.

The same rider/horse/pony combination must compete in two out of the three weeks to be eligible for cups/prizes on the final night.

Classes will be 60cm, 70cm, 80cm, 90cm and 1 metre open. There will be perpetual cups for the league winners – The AJS Promotions Perpetual Cup, Strule Valley Riding Club Perpetual Cup, LW Surphlis & Son Perpetual Trophy, Good Gracious Perpetual Cup & Omagh Equestrian & Countrywear Perpetual Cup. The Fordie Cathers Perpetual Cup will go to the highest placed Strule Valley Riding Club member. Everyone is very welcome, both members and non-members.