Emma’s crowned flexi eventing champion for 2017 at the Meadows

Emma Jackson placing first and secondnd in the Baileys Flexi Eventing League riding Creevagh For Sure (1st) and Amy B (2nd)
Emma Jackson placing first and secondnd in the Baileys Flexi Eventing League riding Creevagh For Sure (1st) and Amy B (2nd)

Emma Jackson had plenty to smile about on Saturday after being crowned Baileys Horse Feeds Flexi Eventing Champion for 2017.

Not only did she take the lion’s share of the £1,000 prize fund with Billy (Creevagh For Sure) but she also took second spot with Amy B and fifth place with Silky (Silken Allure).

The placings at the top of the leaderboard were very tight going into the final day and, of course, that added to the determination of the hardy competitors who braved the mixture of elements to add those much needed points to their existing tally.

The Intro class on the day was won by Newry’s Denise Kelly with Moorhill’s CC Clover, her own rising five year old Clover Flush mare of whom she is justifiably proud, having broken and produced her herself and this was just her second test. They had a one point margin over Helen Cunningham with Willow.

The Pre Novice class saw a very busy Johnny Mulligan taking the red rosette with Mando, a five year old Ricardo Z gelding, owned by Mervyn Gibson. Mando has already made a name for himself, having come fourth in the Dublin 4 YO Young Horse class as well as taking Supreme Working Hunter Championship at Cavan. This combination plan to go eventing this season as well as aiming for the five year old event horse classes. They finished one point clear of Pauline Faloon on her sixteen year old skewbald gelding, Carlingford Sebastian who amassed the points for a brilliant third place in the League.

Nine year old Silken Allure, a mare bred by Helen Troughton by S Creevagh Ferro Ex Siebe, now owned and ridden by Emma Jackson were awarded top marks by Vanda Robinson in the Novice class which took them to a fifth League placing. Rachelle Harding’s lovely eight year old mare, ridden by Justine Harding, occupied the runner up spot on the day.

Meantime, a larger Intermediate class than normal saw victory go to the well regarded combination of Leah Jackson and Gemilly who certainly found their form and had a runaway victory with almost 72 percent. Hannah Blakely, who moved up a gear this week proved her worth on her seven year old Newmarket Jewel mare, Sportsfield Ruby. This is definitely a combination to look out for in the eventing season.

Co-Chair of the Eventing Ireland Amateur Committee, Nicky Nesbitt, took fourth place overall in the League on Ringfort India, with whom she is very excitedly looking forward to her first full eventing season.

This has been our most successful Flexi Eventing series to date with over 600 combinations competing throughout the seven weeks. It has certainly provided a great deal of education in all three disciplines where athletes have been encouraged by judges, organisers and peers.

Organisers offer their sincere thanks to Judy Maxwell of Baileys Horse Feeds for her very generous sponsorship and personal support of this League.

A spokesperson added: “Thanks, too, to our merry band of helpers over the seven weeks- Judges, Scribes, Scorers, Starters, Secretarial, Arena Party etc- we owe you a great debt of gratitude for your commitment and dedication.

“It is very pleasing to be able to report that plans are already underway for the 2018 series. The exciting news is that Clive Richardson has begun work converting one of the existing grass arenas into another all weather arena. It will take approximately four weeks for the work to be completed so the intention is that there will be a much extended cross country course which will be altered each week for next years training.”



Arena 1: Intro - Judge David Patterson: 1, Denise Kelly, Moorhills CC Clover; 2, Helen Cunningham, Willow; 3, Hollie Woods, Jack; 4, Philippa Auret, Hector; 5, Alex Houston, Indy; 6, Andrew Napier, Drumboy

Arena 2: Pre Novice - Judge Stephen Murphy: 1, Johnny Mulligan, Mando; 2, Pauline Faloon, Carlingford Sebastian; 3, Jill Hobson, Ludovick; 4, Denise Kelly, Young Taipan; 5, Leo Pele, Alice; 6, Alex Houston, Indy.

Arena 3: Novice - Judge Vanda Robinson: 1, Emma Jackson, Silky; 2, Justine Harding, Charissma; 3, Emma Jackson, Billy; 4, Robyn McCluskey, Hector; 5, Johnny Mulligan, Ellie; 6, Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad & Suzanne Hagan, Connie.

Arena 3: Intermediate - Judge Vanda Robinson: 1, Leah Jackson, Gemilly; 2, Hannah Blakely, Sportsfield Ruby; 3, Emma Jackson, Amy; 4, Alex Houston, Echo; 5, Nicky Nesbitt, Ringfort India; 6, Louise Nicholson, Drumaknockan Easter Charm.

Showjumping (double clears)

70cms: Amy Griffith, Eve

80cms: Ellen Douglas, Indie, Ellen Douglas, Johnny Bloom, Johnny Mulligan, Lily, Chloe Lister- Tinsley, Danny, Hannah Agnew, Phoenix, Amy Griffith, Arial, Amy Griffith, Willow

90cms: Ellen Douglas, Indie, Denise Kelly, Moorfields CC Clover, Erin Barlow, Barnfield Indian Sky, Hollie Woods, Jack, Carol Armstong, Cornascriebe Last Lady, Gareth Swail, Ally, Ellen Douglas, Johnny Bloom , Hannah Agnew Ruby, Hannah Agnew, Lucy, Johnny Mulligan, Tommy

1m: Pauline Faloon, Carlingford Sebastian, Lucy Savage, Poppy, Terry Smith, Frankie, Johnny Mulligan, Rockleigh, Gareth Nethercote, Trevor, Lynsey Napier- Sneddon, Carsonstown Porsch, Jessica McIntyre, Ally, Joe Harris, Coppindell Concorde.

1.10m: Charlotte Eakin, Vigo, Gareth Nethercote, Lisnolin Clover Madam, Gareth Nethercote , Zadena, Cheryl Stevenson, Rebel, Victoria Clarke, Carrickview Flamenco, Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad, Emma Jackson, Silky, Emma Jackson, Amy B, Johnny Mulligan, Ellie, Leo Pele, Dot, Emma Jackson, Billy, Catherine Robinson, Ruby.

1.20m: Charlotte Eakin, Vigo, Gareth Nethercote, Highvaro, Clare Abbott, Bertie, Anna Kelly, Tizzy, Suzanne Hagan, Connie.

Cross Country (Clear Round): Pauline Faloon, Carlingford Sebastian, Terry Smith, Frankie, Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad

Final League Placings: 1, Emma Jackson, Billy; 2, Emma Jackson, Amy; 3, Pauline Faloon, Carlingford Sebastian; 4, Nicky Nesbitt, Ringfort India; 5, Emma Jackson, Silky; 6, Becky Cullen, Cassidy; 7, Lynsey Napier-Sneddon, Carsonstown Porsch; 8, Andrew Greer, Galdanagh; 9, Robyn McCluskey, Hector; 10, Leo Pele, Alice; 11, Helen Faulkner, Derrivane Danny; 12, Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad; 13, Nicky Nesbitt, The Spymaster; 14, Erin Barlow, Barnfield Indian Sky; 15, Ellen Douglas, Indie.