Kilkeel & District Riding Club celebrate 20 years of silver show

WH champion and reserve champion
WH champion and reserve champion

Kilkeel and District Riding Club celebrated 20 years of their annual silver show on Saturday 25th July 2015.

On the day the sun was shining and the ground conditions were perfect.

Sam Speers and Cara Cunningham, pairs winners

Sam Speers and Cara Cunningham, pairs winners

The organisers wish to thank Mr Les Campbell and Mr Tom Bingham for the use of their wonderful venue and a big thanks also to the hard working committee and friends who helped on the day and in the run up to the show.

A huge thanks must also go to the generous sponsors who provided prizes in kind and financial support to ensure all the competitors went home smiling.

Donations will be made to local charity Mourne Stimulus as selected by Mr Les Campbell.

All of the rings were kept busy and it was a pleasure to see old friends and new compete in various arenas.

Results of each class are as follows:

Horse Ring

Starter Stakes – Draw for a bag of Chaff sponsored by Fosters Equestrian Supplies, Newtownards.

2 Double Clears: Trevor Cardwell on Cassie and Jay Stead on Sam who drew the prize.

Novice Horse – John Hanna Memorial Cup Sponsored by Hanna Family and presented by Margaret Hanna

1 Jordan Parr; Tommy

2 Patricia Devlin; Kicola

3 Sonya Murphy; Duke

4 Alex Russell; Gary Bon Thomas

Intermediate Horse – Prentice Trophy Sponsored by Moorhill Saddlery presented by Vivienne McBurney

1 Roberta Hampton; Tricky

2 Jordan Parr; Tommy

3 Jonny Gordon; Samba Dancer

4 Jason Hanna; Trigger

5 Rebecca Houston; Khaleesi

6 Nadine Fegan; Dawn

Open Horse – Teresa Travers Memorial Cup Sponsored by Travers Family and presented by Bronagh Harper

The O’Hare Family were on top form with all three siblings fighting for the ribbons. Tiernan was pleased to finally add his name to the cup beside both sisters.

1 Tiernan O’Hare; Alabama Slammer

2 Amy O’Hare; War Lady

3 Shannon O’Hare; Roxy

4 Melissa McKee; Dolly

5 Roberta Hampton; JD Buzz

6 Caitlin Stewart; Oscar

Pony Ring

Warm Up Stakes – Draw for a bag of meal by Baileys Horse Feed

5 Double Clears: Caitlin Trainor; Star

Lewis Orr; Lynch

Victoria Hamilton; Prince

Holly Carville; Socks

Melissa McKinstry; Coco who drew the prize

Novice Pony – Gamekeepers Equestrian Trophy presented by Ruth Baird

1 Caitlin Trainor; Star

2 Melissa McKinstry; Coco

3 Caimhe Donnelly; McCool Finn

4 Emily Hill; Monty

5 Máire Horan-Maybaum; Bella

6 Sarah-Jayne Trainor; Star

Intermediate Pony – Kilkeel Joinery Works Cup

1 Charley Hanna; Hazy

2 Cara Cunningham; Mia

3 Sinead Young; Jacobie

4 Kerrie Cunningham; Molly

5 Emma Gillespie; Prince

6 Grainne Rooney; Chelsea

Open Pony – Seamus O’Hare Cup sponsored by The Old Killowen Inn, Rostrevor and presented by Darren O’Hare.

1 Charley Hanna; Hazy winning a Botanica Hamper

2 Rachel McKee; Buster

3 Jack Cowden; Peppermint Clover

4 Sinead Young; Jacobie

5 Tierna Harper; Jessie

6 Rebecca McMullan; Shooting Star

Showing Ring

Lead Rein – Aughrim Cup presented by judge Nicci Hall

1 Lara Annett; Bubbles

2 Ethan Murphy; Papa

3 Molly Adamson; Bluebell

4 Olivia Feagan; Tigger 2

5 Caragh Grant; Beauty

First Ridden – Derryogue Flying Club Shield

1 Lucy Kayes; Bronelli Winston

2 Emma Cawfield; Skys the Limit

3 Daniel O’Sullivan-Toner; Elmo

4 Andrew Sharvin; Archill Lass

Style and Appearance Ponies – J. Kearney Cup

1 Sophie Killen; Rickmoor Ryan

2 Daniel O’Sullivan-Toner; Elmo

3 Emma Cawfield; Skys the Limit

4 Ellie Dolan; Miss Georgia

Cute and Cuddly – Family Pony

1 Lara Annett; Bubbles

2 Alfie Herron; Popcorn

3 Ellie Dolan; Miss Georgia

4 Emma Cawfield; Skys the Limit

5 Sophie Killen; Rickmoor Ryan

Style and Appearance Horses – McBurney Memorial Cup Sponsored by McBurney Contracts

1 Chloe Rooney; Knights Cavalier

2 Aisling Franklin; Really Russell

3 Eimear Kernan; Ermantrude Paddy

4 Harriet Hogan; Tilly

5 Sophie Andrew; Donaghmoney Diamond

6 Nicole Fegan; ED


Champion: Chloe Rooney; Knights Cavalier

Reserve Champion: Lucy Kayes; Bronelli Winston

Working Hunter Ring

Everyone enjoyed the challenging course and stiff competition

Open Horse WH – Robinson Cup sponsored by Horse First and presented by Judge Nicola Brown

Tullymurray stables proved winners with their superb turn out of homebred horses with 3 finishing amongst the top 6 placings.

1 David O’Connor; Tullymurray Molly

2 Chloe Rooney; Knights Cavalier

3 Eugene Milligan; Tiny

4 David O’Connor; Tullymurray Grey Joy

5 David O’Connor; Tullymurray Seana

6 Ellie McMullan; Glenkerran Dream Catcher

Novice Horse WH – Hanna Bros Cup presented by Mrs Ann Hanna and sponsored by Hanna Bros.

1 Susan Cummisky; Holiday Graceful Lady

2 Rachel McNair; It’s a Gem

3 Stephanie Robinson; Lochnaver Little Classic

4 Melissa McBurney; Garvagh Rose

5 Rebecca Houston; Khaleesi

6 Rosie Rooney; Maid in Japan

Young Horse WH – Balmoral Hotel Cup presented by Judge Nicola Brown

1 Aisling Devine; Ruby

Ponies over 143cm – Moneydarragh Flexicare Cup sponsored by Botanica and presented by Judge Nicola Brown

1 Chloe Rooney; Knights Cavalier

Ponies Not Exceeding 143cm – Leestone Caravan Park Cup sponsored by Leestone Sport Horses.

1 Vicky Campbell; Zinnia Z

2 Nicole Fegan; Tigger

Ponies Not Exceeding 133cm – Walker Cup sponsored by Geoffrey Walker

1 Zara Sharvin; Woodvale Classic Lady

2 Abby Cummisky; Black Jack

3 Lucy Kayes; Bronelli Winston

Championship – Kilkeel Knitting Mill cup

Champion WH: Zara Sharvin; Woodvale Classic Lady

Reserve Champion: David O’Connor; Tullymurray Molly

Starter Stakes – The Galley Shield sponsored by Joseph Chambers, The Galley Annalong

1 Lucy Kayes; Bronelli Winston

2 Sam Hamilton; Akhill Lass

Pairs Challenge – Mourne Vintage Club Cup Sponsored by Baileys Horse Feed

The Pairs Challenge saw fierce competition this year with 15 pairs stepping up to have a go.

1 Sam Speers and Cara Cunningham

Special thanks to all of the show’s sponsors: Baileys Horse Feeds, Botanica, Country Fried Chicken Kilkeel, Economy Glass and Glazing, Fosters Equestrian Supplies, Gamekeepers Equestrian Centre, Geoffrey Walker, Hanna Bros Kitchens, Hanna Family, Horse First, J Perry’s and Sons Oil, Kilkeel Garden Centre, Kilkeel Pet shop, Leestone Sport Horses, McBurney Contracts, Moorhill Saddlery, Raymond Haugh, Sadies Chip Van, Seamus O’Hare (The Old Killowen Inn, Rostrevor), Super Pet, Tac-amo, The Galley Annalong, Travers family.