‘Outstanding’ Limavady Show 1945

The annual Limavady Show held in July 1945 under the auspices of the Limavady Young Farmers’ Club was reported as “an outstanding success” by both the News Letter and the Londonderry Sentinel.

Saturday, 11th July 2020, 5:00 am

The entries totalled more than 1,500, an increase of almost 400 on the previous year.

The Londonderry Sentinel noted: “Apart altogether from the record entry, a notable feature, was the remarkably high standard of the exhibits. The attendance was also a record.”

Excellent arrangements for the show had been made by the club, of which Mr J C Drennan, JP, was the president, Miss D Robertson, vice president, Mr A Oakley, chairman, Messrs R Parke and W Alcorn, honorary treasurers, and Mr R Moffatt, honorary secretary.

The judges were: horses, Mr W Wilson, Barrhead, Glasgow; cattle, Mr Victor Love, Bready, Co Tyrone; sheep and goats, Border Leicester, Mr Jacob Horner, Comber; Blackfaced, Mr Hamilton, Belfast; pigs, Mr G Lowe, Hillsborough; poultry, Miss R E Dick, Church Street, Antrim; eggs and butter, Miss A A Parke, Craigmore, Maghera; jams, Mrs M I Smith, Castlederg; cookery Mrs Suffern, Crumlin; fruit, flowers and vegetables, Mr and Mrs Hamilton, Malone Nurseries, Belfast; flax, Mr J Bankhead, Belfast; potatoes, Mr S Smith, Kilkeel; and needlework, Mrs Brown, Enniskillen.

Special prizes in the various sections were awarded as follows: Horses, Porter Challenge Cup for best, brood mare, J C Drennan, JP, Carse Hall, Limavady. Best foal in show, J C Drennan. Best exhibit in horse classes, J C Drennan. Reserve champion exhibit, J C Drennan. Best vanner, John B McNickle, Limavady. Best mare in, draught horse classes, R and S W Fleck, Crevamoy, Broughshane.

Cattle: Best dairy cow, H W Craig, Bellarena; best pure-bred dairy shorthorn or pure-bred shorthorn bull, Douglas Gibson, Broighter; best heifer for dairy purposes, H W Craig; best pail-fed calf, John E Campbell, Aghanloo; best group of three animals, Douglas Gibson.

Poultry: Best pit game cock, George Davison, Cullybackey; best pit game hen, George Davison; best hen (confined to Co Londonderry), Mrs W Loughrey, Aughansallagh.

Sheep: Best pen of two cross-bred ewe lambs, the property of a member of a Young Farmers’ Club, Fred Purcell, Carrick House, Limavady; best group of three Blackfaced sheep, James Harkin, Knockoniel, Swatragh; best Border Leicester gimmer, the Reverend R J McImoyle, Dervock.

Pigs: Best gilt, R Holmes, Ltd, Ballymoney; best cart of suckers, Miss M Doherty, Irish Green Street, Limavady.

Potatoes: Young Farmers’ Perpetual Challenge Cup for members of Limavady YFC gaining highest number of points, James Haslett, Ballyleighery; exhibitor gaining highest number of points, R A Eaton, Derrychrier.

Other results included: Horses, pure-bred Clydesdales stallion, any age, first, J C Drennan, JP; second, John Brown, Elagh House, Londonderry; third, John Hynds, Templemoyle. Brood mare, first, J C Drennan; second, J McElroy, Rossdowney; third, Richard Wallace, Englishtown, Drumcroon, Coleraine. Gelding or yeld mare, first, J C Drennan; second, Messrs M and S Mark; third, J B Love, Drumbane. Gelding or filly, first, J C Drennan; second, Jack Henry, Cullyvenny, Coleraine. Colt, gelding or filly, one year old, first, J C Drennan. Draught horses, brood mare, first, R S Ritchie, Tully, Limavady; second, Samuel Morrow, Ringsend; third, John Carmichael, Ballycastle. Gelding or geld mare, first, R and S W Fleck; second, John Brown; third, George Haslett, Myroe. Gelding or filly, first, J McElroy; second, John Harte, Damhead, Coleraine; third, Joseph Hamilton, Dromore, Limavady. Colt, gelding or filly - one year old, first, W J Linton, Magheramore; second, Michael Healy, Ardlough; third, James Faith, Killylane. Vanner, first, J B McNickle; second, James O’Connor, Faughanvale; third, John Townley, Termacoy, Carrichue. Best turn-out of horse and cart, first R and S W Fleck; second J C Drennan; third, Major Patton, Ballyspallin, Ballykelly.

Cattle, dairy cow, in milk, first, H W Craig; second, Josephine McKee, Camus House, Coleraine; third, W McCollum, Greysteel. Dairy cow in calf (not in milk), first, Harold Adams, Loguestown, Portrush; second, Josephine McKee; third, J McElroy.

Dairy cow in calf or milk (confined to members of Young Farmers’ Club), first, Josephine McKee; second, Harold Adams; third, Jack McElroy. Ayrshire cow, first, Josephine McKee; second, James M Lees, Outhill, Cloyfin; third, Lieutentant-Colonel F S N Macrory, Limavady.