Prizes galore as NPS Area 32 holds Championship Show


The National Pony Society Area 32 held its rescheduled Championship Show at Knockagh View E.C. in conjunction with the N.I. Association of the Welsh Pony & Cob Society’s end of season show.

With inclement weather at Clogher Valley Show grounds, resulting in the cancellation of all equestrian events, the NPS Area 32 organising committee were indebted to the Welsh committee for hosting the rescheduled Championship Show at Knockagh View.

All competitors forward had to have qualified for the finals and with a total prize fund of £1050, payable across the six section championships the finals attracted good entries.

The NPS Area extends sincere thanks and appreciation to Clogher Valley Show and M.C.T. Mechanical for so generously supporting the prize fund. The judge tasked with the difficult task of determining the ‘Champion Ponies of The Year’ was Mrs Joanna Jack from Scotland.

The first championship of the day was the ‘Breeding Pony of the Year’ and securing the title was Creevelea Marcello, shown by Dee Harris and bred by Jean Campbell from Co. Sligo. Standing in reserve was the Sherrard family’s Parkhill Van Persie, no stranger to top awards throughout the season. The first reserve spot went to John McCormick’s yearling, Brookllan Celtic Charmer, shown by Tony Armstrong from Armcott Stables.

Following up was the Mini Ponies with a lovely line up of both First Ridden and Lead Rein ponies. Taking the top spot and Champion title was the young partnership of Poppy Smith and the four year old Dartmoor, Beltoy Panteal, owned and produced by Debbie Smith. Standing in reserve was this year’s Dublin Show winner, Romany River Anniversary Girl and Caitlin McGuckin. Completing the line-up and securing the honours in first reserve was the first ridden pony Glassmullan Mickey Mouse and Curtis Gray.

Casey Thompson had a fabulous show with her Welsh section D, Fflur Garnon retaining his winning form and taking the tricolour in the M&M Ridden Championship. In reserve was the smallest of the Native Breeds, the Shetland; Glenlough Persuasion ridden by Heather Steele and owned by Sharon Cumberland from the Ronelle Stud. Standing in 1st Reserve was Bernadette Lyon’s Dales pony, Copeylane Ringo ridden by Janice Reddy from Ardnacashel, Comber.

As in previous years the Mountain & Moorland In-Hand Junior and Senior Championship finals were well supported.

The Junior M&M Pony of the Year title went to Denvir Logan’s three year old Connemara filly, Liskellen Beauty and following up in reserve was Creevy Cottage Stud’s new Welsh Section A colt, Meisayn Captain Sam, shown by Cathy Brodie and in 1st Reserve, Sarah Beers and Loneash Game Girl.

The Senior M&M final was hotly contested with several of this season’s Champion ponies forward, with the Welsh breed well represented.

For 2015 the tricolour went to Andrew Brown with the Dartmoor stallion, Langfield Pantalaimon whose offspring, Beltoy Panteal had earlier in the day taken the Mini Pony of the Year title with Poppy Smith. In reserve was Co Louth breeders, Francis and Deirdre O’Reilly’s Connemara mare, Glenmore Kelly’s Commotion and concluding the championship line up in 1st Reserve, the Welsh Section A stallion, Rhydgwillim Cockatoo owned and produced by Sarah Beers.

It was another excellent result for young rider, Megan Dumigan winning the ridden Show Pony & Show Hunter Championship title with her show pony, Telynau Juventus. The Reserve went to the Intermediate Show Hunter, Fantastic Mr Fox ridden by Sarah Brittain, with Dee Harris and Creevelea Marcello in first reserve.

After an exceptionally long day and with daylight fading, Mrs Joanna Jack welcomed back her final line up of top ponies forward for the coveted NPS Area 32 Supreme Pony of the Year. Casting her eye meticulously over the section Champion and Reserve ponies, before awarding the 2015 ‘Supreme Pony of the Year‘ to the Dartmoor stallion, Langfield Pantalaimon, standing in Reserve Supreme, the ridden Show pony, Telynau Juventus and completing the finale in 1st Reserve, Fflur Garnon.

The NPS Area 32 team looks forward to the Society’s Awards Dinner on Saturday 31 October at Knockagh Lodge and subsequently the Area’s ‘Richard Telford Ridden and Working Hunter Clinic’ at Knockagh View Equestrian Centre on Saturday 14 November 2015.

For further information on the forthcoming events please see the NPS Area 32 Facebook page or contact Marie on O28 9337 8850.


NPS Championships 2015 - Judge, Mrs Jo Jack. Scotland.

NPS Mini Pony of the Year

Champion: Beltoy Panteal, Poppy Smith

Reserve: Romany River Anniversary Girl, Caitlin McGuckin

1st Reserve: Glassmullan Mickey Mouse, Curtis Gray

NPS Breeding Pony of the Year

Champion: Creevelea Marcello, Dee Harris

Reserve: Parkhill Van Persie, Elaine Sherrard

1st Reserve: Brookllan Celtic Charmer, John McCormick

NPS Mountain & Moorland Ridden Pony of the Year

Champion: Fflur Garnon, Casey Thompson

Reserve: Glenlough Persuasion, Heather Steele

1st Reserve: Copeylane Ringo, Janice Reddy

NPS Mountain & Moorland Junior Pony of the Year

Champion: Liskellen Beauty, Denver Logan

Reserve: Meisayn Captain Sam, Cathy Brodie

1st Reserve: Loneash Game Girl, Sarah Beers

NPS Show Pony/Show Hunter Pony of the Year

Champion: Telynau Juventus, Megan Dumigan

Reserve: Fantastic Mr Fox, Sarah Brittain

1st Reserve: Creevelea Marcello, Dee Harris

NPS Mountain & Moorland Senior Pony of the Year

Champion: Langfield Pantalaimon, Zoe Bell

Reserve: Glenmore Kelly’s Commotion, F & D O’Reilly

1st Reserve: Rhydgwillim Cockatoo, Sarah Beers

NPS Supreme Pony of the Year: Langfield Pantalaimon

Reserve Supreme: Telynau Juventus

1st Reserve Supreme: Fflur Garnon