Smyth’s a winner once again

editorial image

The County Londonderry Agricultural Show Light Horse Section including showjumping was held with the permission of Duncan and John McMonagle.

Despite the weather up to the show making ground conditions far from ideal, it was thanks to the McMonagles providing another small field for the Ridden Hunter classes that it was possible to go ahead with all the classes planned.

Many thanks go to all the competitors for standing by and giving support to allow the jumping events to be completed.

The ground dried throughout the day and the spectators came out to support their local agricultural show.

The horse show jumping events were very well supported and there was nothing but praise for the show from the competitors.

Peter Smyth took his second win within a week in the TRI Ulster Region Summer Tour 1.35m with Gillian Doherty’s Cooleyhill Bonzo C.

Sarah Kelly with Simon Scott’s Babay Charlton won the TRI 1m class.

The Amateur was won by Philip White with Julie Smyth’s Redwood Humphries who while delighted with the win said he had peaked a week too late, having not been so fortunate at the RDS.

The 1.10m was won by Olivia Roulston and Cheeky Blonde beating Philip into second place on this occasion.

The 1.10m Ladies was won by Lynn Russell with James Mackean’s Rockmount Misty Star.

The 1.10m Children on Horses saw a win for Donal O’Connor riding Claggan Dark Warrior.

1.20m was again a win for Peter Smyth this time riding Kathleen Gallagher’s Cruising Lux.

There was a good standard of competition in the pony arena. The coveted Rhona McLaughlin Memorial Cup for the 128 90cms class was won by Maeve Clarke all the way from Co Down and riding Lenamore Mini Metro.

The Farming Life Cup was won by Erin Crawford riding Claggan Supreme while the Freedom Cup was also won by Erin riding Sparkling Castlewarren Gold.

The ridden Hunter classes were very well supported with very good entries in all classes. Lisa Mitchell Talbot with John Hagans gelding Gransha Tarrango was Champion and Ballylinn Ben ridden by Darryl McKinney was reserve.

Frank Dickey and FSD Dance A Lot were the youngstock champions and Highmoor Lass in Reserve with The Mini Pony Championship was won by Curtis Gray’s Glasmullan Mickey Mouse, reserve was Lucy Donnan and Idyllic Tyranny.

There were excellent entries in the working hunter events, numbers not ever seen previously.

The Pony Working Hunter Championship was won by Maria Carr and Curolea Rosi with Chloe Cunning and Westbrook Peter Pan in Reserve.

The Horse working Hunter Championship was won by John Hagan’s Gransha Tarrango ridden by Lisa Mitchell Talbot with Frances Kealey and her own VDL Finn in reserve.

The Family Horse Shield was won by Elaine Power and Wee Chief.

The Judges in the Showing and working Hunter classes were very complimentary of the standard and number of horses brought forward in the classes and again a big thank you to them for giving of their time. Thanks also go to Causeway Coast Showjumpers and Route Hunt Pony Club for the various caravans, Judges boxes and Jumps which are made available to the show.

The organisation of all the variety of classes at the show would not have been possible without the many volunteers who gave their time and also the generous support of many sponsors. County Londonderry Agricultural Show committee is indebted to them all.

The layout of the arenas which due to ground conditions had to be different from previously and unfortunately the arena which came off worst was that for the unregistered jumping.

Much appreciation to the support given by competitors in the unregistered section in sometimes difficult conditions.

Many thanks to all who supported County Londonderry Agricultural Show and to the many welcoming favourable comments received.

The competitors were full of praise for the atmosphere which this inevitably creates and hopefully can continue for many years. Organisers always need the weather to be kind in both the run up to the show and on the day.

Thanks go to the McMonagles for the use of their ground and to all the sponsors, judges and other voluntary helpers without whom the show could not run.