Taggarts walk off with the title as Clydesdales star at Ballymena

Cold and frosty conditions did not deter Clydesdale enthusiasts who turned out at Ballymena Livestock Market for the Co Londonderry Horse Breeding Society’s Annual Clydesdale Foal Show.

Exhibitors braved the elements and travelled from all parts of the province, joined by many spectators both local and from the mainland. The task of judging this year’s show was taken on by the Captain Jim Anderson from Kilmacolm.

The Taggart family from Armoy with their cups awarded at the Clydesdale Show in Ballymena. Also included is John Henning from Danske Bank.

The Taggart family from Armoy with their cups awarded at the Clydesdale Show in Ballymena. Also included is John Henning from Danske Bank.

The Overall Ribbons went to The Taggart Family from Armoy with their homebred junior filly foal, Ballaney Lady Clover, on her show debut. She is sired by the well known Carnaff Perfection with her dam being the Campbeltown bred mare, Rhoin Bonnie Jean.

Reserve Overall Champion went to the second prize Junior Filly Foal, Downhill Lady Linda. This foal sired by Glebeview Sir Charles with her dam being Arclid Shona was bred and exhibited by Geoffrey Tanner from Macosquin.

The Senior Champion for the second year was Croaghmore Roxy, this three year old Glebeview Sir Charles mare was put through her paces 
by her owner Sandra Henderson.

Reserve Senior Champion went to Darren and Roberta Ryan with their recently purchased yearling colt, Hillview Braveheart, bred in Scotland by Kevin Wilson, his sire being Doura Jackpot.

The class of 4 enthusiastic Young Handlers was won by Ben McLaughlin (Glebeview), with second place going to Clarice Taggart (Ballaney) who qualified for the final at the Royal Highland Show in 2015. Great credit to all the kids who took part and to Wendy Holmes who generously sponsors this class each year.

The class results were as follows:

Class 1: Mare 3 Year Old & Upwards - 1st, Croaghmore Roxy (Sandra Henderson); 2nd, Bratlach Ailsa (Drummond Family)

Class 2: Two Year Old Filly - 1st, Cloghan Lady Jane (Gordon Smyth)

Class 3: One Year Old Colt/Gelding - 1st, Hillview Braveheart (D & R Ryan); 2nd, Glebeview Buddy (V & R Scott); 3rd, Bratlach Corrig Clyde (Drummond Family)

Class 4: One Year Old Fill - 1st, Kilmaclasser Bonnie Lily (Geoffrey Tanner)

Class 5: Senior Colt Foal - 1st, Croaghmore Bailey (V & R Scott); 2nd, Dairylough McLintock (S & V Parke); 3rd, Oldstone Danny Boy (Joe Boyle)

Class 6: Senior Filly Foal - 1st, Rosegift Golden Rose (P. O’Boyle); 2nd, Drumeen Hilary (D & M McKay)

Class 7: Junior Colt Foal - 1st, Croaghmore Alfie (S. Henderson); 2nd, Macfin Starlight (Messrs. Hanna); 3rd, Cloghan Shane (Gordon Smyth); 4th, Dairylough McRoyal (S & V Parke)

Class 8: Junior Filly Foal - 1st, Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family); 2nd, Downhill Lady Linda (G. Tanner); 3rd, Macfin Sweet Melody (Messrs. Hanna); 4th, Bencannon Gemini (J. Reid); 5th, Ballinrees Lady May (V. Millen)

Class 9: Young Handlers - 1st, Ben McLaughlin (Glebeview); 2nd, Clarice Taggart (Ballaney); 3rd, Ashley McBride (Croaghmore); 4th, Craig Hanna (Macfin)

Overall Champion - Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family)

Reserve Overall Champion - Downhill Lady Linda (G. Tanner)

Opp. Sex to Overall Champion - Hillview Braveheart (D & R Ryan)

Senior Champion - Croaghmore Roxy (Sandra Henderson)

Reserve Senior Champion - Hillview Braveheart (D & R Ryan)

Foal Champion - Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family)

Reserve Foal Champion - Downhill Lady Linda (G. Tanner)

Best Foal Bred in Ireland - Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family)

Best Foal Bred by Exhibitor - Ballaney Lady Clover (Taggart Family)

Best Foal by a Glebeview Stallion - Downhill Lady Linda (G. Tanner)

Best Presented Animal - Croaghmore Roxy (Sandra Henderson)

CLHBS Young Handler - Ben McLaughlin (Glebeview)

CHS Young Handler Qualifier - Clarice Taggart (Ballaney)

The Society were honoured to have John Henning, of Danske Bank (main sponsor) to present the overall prizes, many thanks to Jervis Nutt Esq., Limavady who contributed generously towards the Overall and Reserve Champion Prizes., also to Kenneth Irwin (Bluegrass Horse Feeds) who kindly sponsored the Senior and Reserve Senior Champion.

Yvonne Hanna (secretary) thanked the society members who annually contribute towards special prizes down through the classes.

The Co Londonderry Horse Breeding Society would like to thank J A McClelland & Sons for the use of their first class facilities, and to the market staff for all their help, before and after the show.

The society’s Christmas raffle draw was drawn during Saturday’s judging.

The winners were: 1st Prize (£100) Diane McFadden (Ballycastle); 2nd Prize (£75) Josh Milligan (Mosside); 3rd Prize (£50) Alan Campbell (Kilmacolm); 4th Prize (£25) Damien O’Boyle (Portglenone); 5th Prize (£25) WP McCullough (Mosside)

The society wish to thank everyone who supported the raffle, proceeds will be going to Northern Ireland Chest, Heart & Stroke.

The Foal Show Social Night was enjoyed by many CLHBS members and friends, thanks go to Craig Black and staff of the Bush Tavern for their hospitality and to John Knox for providing the great music.

The CLHBS would like to wish all their members and supporters a Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year!



This year the NISA Clydesdale Championship was kindly sponsored by Bluegrass Horse Feeds. The prizes were presented by Kenneth Irwin on Saturday. The results were as follows:

1st, Kilmaclasser Bonnie Lily (Geoffrey Tanner); 2nd= Carnaff Rose (Darren & Roberta Ryan), Oldstone Master Micky (Amy Storey); 4th, Bratwell Storm (Wendy Holmes); 5th= Donnybrewer Maverick (Jannine Dunlop), Macfin Crystal Gail (Messrs. Hanna), Bencannon Grand Slam (Eric Hinds).