The Mighty Midgets stand tall at Meadows

The Mighty Midgets Team, winners of the primary Teams,  Zara Sharvin, Shannon Boville, Emma Burns, Simone Leathem
The Mighty Midgets Team, winners of the primary Teams, Zara Sharvin, Shannon Boville, Emma Burns, Simone Leathem

The Annual St Patrick’s Schools’ Jumping at The Meadows was another great success with fabulous entries across the board.

More than 300 competitors were blessed with a glorious day and the standard of jumping was impressively high.  

Arena 1 started on the stroke of 9am with the Novice Teams.  Assumption Grammar from Ballynahinch were third to go and set a very high standard by posting three double clears in super quick times. Three other teams, Down High Gold, Our Lady’s Grammar and Saintfield High School Lions, managed the zero score but none were able to match the Co Down team’s times and they headed home with the specially designed shamrock rosettes and the top placed prizes very kindly sponsored by TRI Equestrian and Baileys Horse Feeds.

The Tack and Turn Out Competitions were judged by Shellagh Gault who  had no doubt about the winning Novice team, awarding the prize to Ballyclare Secondary who were impressively clean, neat, tidy and matching in every respect.

The Novice Individual competitions are notoriously competitive and St Patrick’s Day was no exception. There were breath-takings rounds completed in very fast times but the centre place on the podium was reserved for Kilkeel High School pupil, Charley Hanna who is no stranger to success in speed competitions on board Hazy, with a one second lead over runner-up, Daniel Moore on Lancelot du Bois.

The Open Team competition saw just two seconds divide the top two placings with victory going to the Loretto Convent’s duo of Ellen Thompson and Niamh McEvoy with their four super horses who all posted double clears as did the second placed Methodist College quartet.

Individually, Hannah Thompson and Sophie, regular winners in schools’ competitions, won the show by a fraction of a second over second placed Laura Brown on Jack.

The Premier Individual 1.10m class had the highest ever number of competitors and a great standard of jumping. Abby Morton took top place with Connor just ahead of Hugo McAlpine and the very accomplished, G Maha.

As ever, the Primary Schools created great excitement and their standards are very high indeed. Many of those competing are regulars from the Winter League and month on month the fortunes change. This time round it was Paddy’s Lucky Day for The Mighty Midgets who finished ahead of the Armstrong Arrows by a margin of almost two seconds. This super little team are off to Mullingar next month to represent Northern Ireland in the All Ireland Schools’ Final and, of course, our best wishes go with these very young ambassadors of our sport.

Katie McCombe and her brilliant little pony, White Ribbon, made it a day to remember by winning the Individual Primary 70 cms class with Shannon Boville and the equally accomplished pony, Toffee.

The very popular 50cms Primary class saw victory go to Sam Jackson on Jack from Ballyclare Primary School who finished closer to the optimum time than second placed, Emma Bamford with Southern Angel. It was delightful to see so many little combinations doing so well. Many finished with double clears and we look forward to them all progressing on to the next level.

The Meadows Equestrian Centre would like to thank all Judges and Stewards who officiated on the day as well as Shellagh Gault  who did a super job as Tack Inspector.  This has certainly turned into an Annual Event which is a very memorable one for so many of the school children.

Best wishes are extended from the entire staff at the Meadows to all the teams and individuals heading south to represent our region in the All Ireland Schools’ Competition in Mullingar.

The next schools competition at the Meadows is a Charity Event due to be help on Bank Holiday Monday, 2nd May with proceeds being divided between Action Cancer and C.R.Y (Cardiac Risk in the Young).

Further details will be posted shortly- enquiries to Dora on 07876 758 979 or Mel on 07818 206 728.


Novice Teams

Assumption Grammar School – The Flyers (Emily Stewart, Calyco Jack, Ella Kinkaid, Lismahon Houdini, Lucy Savage, Maggie, Zara Burns, Flapjack Flyer); Down High Gold (Abby Cummiskey, Black Jack, Alex Ogle, Holiday Graceful Lady, Lara Kelly, Milford Spectacular, Abby Cummiskey,Holiday Graceful Lady); Our Lady’s Grammar (Aoibheann Morgan, Hey Aussie, Nicki Lappin, Ruby, Malleadh Magee, A Tad More Heart, Niamh Morgan, Phoenix); Saintfield High School Lions (Shania Hands, Lola, Sam Pour, Dunadeal, Molly Smyth, Dandy, Danielle Connolly, Lakota); Dromore High School (Victoria Boville, Bobby, Zoe Gilliland, Harry, Ryan Boville, Bailey, Sara Topley, Gen); Ballymena Academy Navy (Zoe Dickey, Danny, Myah McClean, Justice, Alex Henry McCool, Charlie B, William Hamilton, Jonty).

Tack & Turn Out Winners: Ballyclare Secondary (Emma Ewing, Buck Rodgers, Natasha McKernan, Star Statiz, Jessica McConnell, Willow, Hannah McCartney, Buck Rodgers).

Novice Individual: Charlie Hanna, Hazy; Daniel Moore, Lancelot du Bois; Ella Kinkaid, Lismahon Houdini; Connie Crothers, Buddy; Lucy Morton, Princess; Charlotte Greer, Tom.

Tack & Turn Out Winner: Samantha Edgar, Rowen.

Open Teams

Loretto Convent, Omagh (Ellen Thompson, Lisross Diamond Skye, Niamh McEvoy, Edentrillick Jazz, Ellen Thompson, Evros Delight, Niamh McEvoy, Glen Ford Clausa); Methodist College (Anna Kelly, Something Special, Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad, Katie Riley, Versace Biscuit, Anna Lyons, Rafa); Down High Eagles (Harriet Pele, Rachel Kerr, Hughie, Anna Hogg, Kayleigh, Sophie Truesdale, Beech Hall Star); Cambridge House (Charlotte Harding, Crossmaglen Bandit, Josh Mark, Leo, Nikki McNeice, Oscar, Charlotte Harding; Ballymena Academy (Tori Sirgenor, Bonny, Sarah McNabney, Ballygannon Colour Flight, Ellen Harkness, Keno, Courtney Hamilton, Buddy); Drumragh Integrated (Patrick McEvoy, Blue Bird, Nicholas Bothwell, Cheeky, Rachel McGinn, Belle, Scot McIvor, Drumreagh Actress).

Open Individual: Hannah Thompson, Sophie; Laura Brown, Jack; Annie Courtney-Caddam, LCC Clover Lily; Cerys Howell, Wivolet Something Special; Ellen Thompson, Trendy Blue; 6= Rachel Patterson, Seapatrick Mini & Tabytha Bonar, Apache Dove.

Premier Individual: Abby Morton, Connor; Hugo McAlpine, G Maha; Niall McEvoy, Paddy; Charlotte Harding, Nonovic Temara; Hugo McAlpine, Loughnatousa Ron; Abby Morton, May.

Primary Teams: The Mighty Midgets (Shannon Boville, Toffee, Emma Burns, Dat’ll Do, Simone Leathem, Willow, Zara Sharvin, Woodvale Classic Lady); Armstrong Arrows (Chloe McBride, Katie, Jemima Heffron, Rosie, Charles Heffron, Apple, Jemima Heffron, Katie); Fab 4 from RSA & St Joseph’s Poyntzpass (Rory Osborne, Socky, Victoria Lee, Breeze, Katie Haire, Thunder Ba Ba, Rory Osborne, Double Dazzle); The Wingnuts from Cookstown & Omagh Integrated PS (Beth Thompson, Speedie, Kym Moore, Heather Molly, Beth Thompson, One More, Kym Moore, Smokegun); Little Mix Up (Katelyn Irvine, Bellewstown Pedro, Emma Bamford, Southern Angel, Alex Byrne, Forest Lodge Rambler, Felicity McConnell, Wispa); The Rascals (Katie McCombe, White Ribbon, Lucy Morton, Petal, Peter Morton, AJ, Katie Mccombe, Bambi).

Tack & Turn Out Winners: Little Mix Up (Katelyn Irvine, Bellewstown Pedro, Emma Bamford, Southern Angel, Alex Byrne, Forest Lodge Rambler, Felicity McConnell, Wispa).

Primary Individuals – 50cms: Sam Jackson, Jack; Emma Bamford, Southern Angel; Megan Carville, Coolney Breeze; Pierce Blair, Poppy Super Rocket; Katelyn Irvine, Bellewstown Pedro; Rocco Cairns, Shadow.

Primary Individual – 70cms: Katie McCombe, White Ribbon; Shannon Boville, Toffee; Freya Sayle, Fenaghbeg Ever; Chloe Connon, Coco Bongo; Chloe Connon, Little Rock Hip Hop; Kym Moore, Heather Molly.