Coffee morning at Federation House

Coffee morning prizewinners
Coffee morning prizewinners

The Arts Committee organised the annual coffee morning on Friday, 10th February 2017 at Federation House.

Members attended from Derry and Antrim and Down, Fermanagh, Armagh and Tyrone to enjoy the delicious scones, pancakes, traybakes and goodies served with the aroma of freshly made coffee and tea. A successful raffle saw many ladies winning wonderful prizes.

Federation Chairman Elizabeth Warden accepted a new trophy from Jean Blair, a former Federation Chairman. This trophy is to be presented annually for an Acrylic Painting, Novice Class.

Elizabeth presented the awards to the prizewinners in Painting, Collage, Calligraphy and Good Handwriting Competitions.

Arts committee Chairman, Carole Baird proposed a vote of thanks to all those who had helped to make the event so enjoyable.


Class 1 Painting Acrylic Open (Mabel Johnston Salver): 1st Margaret Johnston, Annahilt; 2nd Molly McCleary, Hillsborough

Class 2 Painting Acrylic Novice (Jean Blair Trophy): 1st Lesley Dowds, Ballysallagh; 2nd Jean Gregg, Dollingstown; 3rd Georgie Simpson, Crossgar

Class 3 Any Other Medium (Moorcroft Salver): 1st Deborah Smyth, Crossgar; 2nd Margaret Johnston, Annahilt; 3rd Eleanor McIlroy, Cullybackey

Class 4 Oil Open Section (Phyllis Ennis Cup): 1st Helen Galway, Ballysallagh; 2nd Margaret Johnston, Annahilt; 3rd Lily Kennedy, Macosquin

Class 5 Oil Novice Section (Lorna Walker Salver): 1st Margaret Gill, Newtownbreda; 2nd Margaret Johnston, Annahilt; 3rd Heather Lowry, Ballysallagh; HC Elizabeth Cleland, Crossgar

Class 6 Watercolour Open Section (Logan Salver): 1st Reta Gilmore, Cladymilltown; 2nd Hilary McClean, Drumahoe; 3rd Maureen Rutter, Lenaderg

Class 7 Watercolour Novice Section (Joy Swann Salver): 1st Iris Walker, Downpatrick; 2nd Barbara McGribben, Upper Finaghy; 3rd Margaret Johnston, Annahilt

Class 8 Collage Section (Gosford Trophy): 1st Anne McKeown, Moneymore; 2nd Evelyn McQuillan, Moneymore; 3rd Eileen Richmond, Macosquin; HC Linda Brown, Moneymore; HC Christina Haycock, Newtownbreda

Class 9 Calligraphy Open (Pringle Cup): 1st Olivia Nutt, Eglinton; 2nd Barbara McGribben, Upper Finaghy; 3rd Helen Palmer, Newtownbreda

Class 10 Calligraphy Novice (Jacqui Brachi Shield): 1st Jennifer Skelly, Moneyreagh; 2nd Jennifer Lockhart, Portrush

Class 11 Good Handwriting Open (Stedfast Salver): 1st Margaret Munroe, Ballysallagh; 2nd Harriet Fraser, Moneyreagh; 3rd Jennifer Busby, Moneyreagh

Class 12 Good Handwriting Novice (Newtownbreda Salver): 1st Harriet Fraser, Moneyreagh; 2nd Joan Laverick, Newtownbreda; 3rd Elizabeth Moore, Saintfield