End of an era for Suffolks

Gary McAdoo, left, and Josh Cooper, right, with chairman Gary Beacom  'at the annual NI Branch awards night.
Gary McAdoo, left, and Josh Cooper, right, with chairman Gary Beacom 'at the annual NI Branch awards night.

The Northern Ireland Branch of the Suffolk Sheep Society annual presentation awards evening marked something of the end of an era.

Following the handing out of awards a presentation was made to secretary Roberta McMullan, who after more than a decade at the helm has decided to call it a day.

Roberta’s replacement will have massive shoes to fill and during the evening’s proceedings chairman Gary Beacom thanked the outgoing administrator for her long and unstinting service to the Branch.

During his keynote address Mr Beacom also thanked members for their support during the year and for turning out in such large numbers on the night.

The chairman added that after another successful season he believed Northern Ireland breeders would continue to lead the way. He highlighted the fact that in 2014 five of the top eight priced sires sold in the UK and Ireland had ended up in Northern Ireland flocks.

Before finishing his address the Lakeview flock owner thanked all sponsors, in particular Danske Bank, who backed both the NI Championships and the Premier sale.

Once again 2014 provided numerous highlights with NI breeders making their presence felt at home and abroad.

On home soil the chairman swept the boards by claiming the overall champion rosettes at Balmoral Show, the Northern Ireland Championships and the Premier show and sale held in Ballymena Livestock Mart.

In the annual NI Branch flock competition Cavanagrove flock owner, Philip Kennedy, took the honours while the Donrho flock of Packie and Rhonda Donnelly, created history by becoming the first NI breeders to win the prestigious UK Flock competition for the second time, having previously won it in 2012.

The young generation also had their say over the course of the past year with Eoin Butler and Kirsty Magennis scooping the young handlers honours while top stock-judgers were Lee Beacom and Wendy Liggett.

Among the guests attending were Geoffrey Wilson, representing Danske Bank and Jimmy Screene, chairman of the Southern Ireland branch.



Kinbally Cup; D Taylor.

Robert H Stewart Memorial Cup; S & W Tait.

Novice Cup; J Murnion.

Suffolk Sheep Society Cup; GC Beacom.

Allam Cup; RC & JC Watson.

Blossomhill Perpetual Cup; I Donald, S & W Tait.

Athur N Bocock Challenge Cup: GC Beacom.

Norman Orange Cup; GC Beacom.

Ewe sale

RJ Allam Memorial Cup, P Donnelly.

Major WEH Workman Cup; P Donnelly.

RW Hanna Memorial Cup, P Donnelly.

NI Branch Championships

Desks International Perpetual Bowl; GC Beacom.

North Antrim Suffolk Breeders Perpetual Cup, D Taylor.

Thomas Robinson Perpetual Trophy; P Donnelly.

Summer agricultural shows

Smith/Kline Trophy; P Donnelly.

Suffolk Sheep Society NI Branch Trophy; P Donnelly.

Chestnutt Animal Feeds Cup; RC & JC Watson.

Hugh Rankin Memorial Cup, P Donnelly.

Young handler competition

RC Watson Perpetual Trophy; Eoin Butler.

SH Coleman Perpetual Trophy, Kirsty Magennis.


David Duncan Perpetual Shield; Lee Beacom.

Wm Montgomery Perpetual Shield; Wendy Liggett.

Flock competition

Sonia Doak Memorial Trophy; P Kennedy.

Suffolk Sheep Society (NI Branch) Shield, G Douglas.

Desks International Perpetual Trophy, S Sufferin.

Nelson Craig Memorial Perpatual Challenge Cup, P Kennedy.

Suffolk Sheep Society (NI Branch) Shield, P McVerry.

UKF Perpetual Challenge Trophy, P Kennedy.

Provincial sales

Arthur T Robinson Memorial Trophy, R McAdoo.

Castlewellan Cup, G McAdoo.

Ennis Shield, R McAdoo.

Coulter Cup, R McAdoo.

Dalgety Cup, AJ & NJ Robinson.

Nigel Bell Memorial Cup, R McAdoo.

Farming Life Trophy, S & W Tait.

Robert Duncan Memorial Salver, GC Beacom.