Farming Life and Danske Bank Awards 2014

Northern Ireland agriculture was put in the spotlight at the annual Farming Life and Danske Bank Awards.

The awards, now in their fourth year, were held at the Ramada Hotel, Belfast.

The award-winners on the night were:

Lifetime achievement award: Roy McClenaghan

Farming champion: Martyn Blair, president of the Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster

Unsung hero: Noel Erskine

Women in Agri: Elaine Shaw; highly commended Margaret Collinson

Young Farmer/student of the year: Gary Spence, Kilkeel; highly commended Geoff Thompson, Banbridge

Dairy farmer of the year: David and Roy Harpur, Bessbrook; highly commended William Irvine, Mountnorris

Pig Farmer of the year: Stephen Malcomson, Ballyward; highly commended Robert Henderson, Kilkeel

Sheep Farmer of the year: Roger and Hilary Bell, Kells; highly commended James Armstrong, Fermanagh

Beef farmer of the year: John Egerton, Fermanagh; highly commended Nigel Matchett, Portadown

Wildlife friendly farmer of the year: David and James Bonnar (Bonnar Farms), Ballymena; highly commended Allan Brady, Fermanagh

Arable/horticulture farmer of the year: Sean Murphy, Mayobridge; highly commended Richard Kane, Seaforde and Kenneth Gilpin, Portadown.

Poultry farmer of the year: Graham McIlroy, Coleraine; highly commended Reggie Abernethy, Dungannon

Farm Quality Assured farmer of the year: Nigel Matchett, Portadown; highly commended Victor Patterson, Ballygawley

Agri food business: Primacy Meats Food Village, highly commended Annaghmore Mushrooms

Farm supplier of the year: Parklands Veterinary Group; highly commended Fane Valley stores

Machinery company of the year: Fleming Agri Products Ltd; highly commended Erth Engineering