Ideal conditions for annual match

editorial image

Fermanagh and Tyrone Annual Ploughing Match took place as planned on Saturday 11 March 2017 on the Rash Estate, Omagh.

Weather conditions were ideal after a few dry days in the lead up to the match.

A good turnout of ploughmen from across the province and Co.Donegal representing the various classes were judged by William King, Sam Bowman, and Des Wright from the Northern Ireland Ploughing Association and Leonard Bell from the National Ploughing Association (Ireland).

The Society acknowledges the host, sponsors, the events catering unit of Wayne McCaul, Fermanagh and Omagh District Council, competitors and all who helped out to contribute to the success of the annual ploughing match.

Presentation of cups and annual draw will take place at the Bridge Inn, Trillick on Saturday 8th April 2017.

Match results

World Style Open: 1st David Gill, Hillsborough; 2nd Gary Simms, The Lennon P.S, Co.Donegal; 3rd Matthew Simms, The Lennon P.S, Co.Donegal; 4th Brian O’Neill, The Moy P.S

World Style Confined: 1st Pat O’Donnell, The Moy P.S; 2nd John McKinney, Finn P.S, Co.Donegal; 3rd Pat Geary, The Lennon P.S, Co.Donegal; 4th Herbie Stevenson, Finn Valley P.S, Co.Donegal

Hydraulic Lift Open: 1st Fred Dunne, Society of Ploughmen, N.Ireland; 2nd Jack O’Brien, Society of Ploughmen, N.Ireland; 3rd Jim Bergin, Ballynure; 4th William Steenson, Markethill

Hydraulic Life Confined: 1st Peter Allen, Hillsborough; 2nd Dr Victoria Armstrong, Beragh; 3rd Noel McCrea, Fermanagh and Tyrone P.S; 4th John Keating, Newtownbutler

Trailer Plough: David Grattan, Banbridge

Multi Furrow: 1st Donal Deeny, Finn Valley P.S; 2nd Eddie Boyd, Clogher; 3rd, Freddie McFarland, Omagh

Best Back: Gary Simms, The Lennon P.S

Best Finish: Matthew Simms, The Lennon P.S

Highest Pointed Visitor: Gary Simms, The Lennon P.S

Highest Pointed Member, Fermanagh & Tyrone P.S (Mills Oil Cup): Peter Allen, Hillsborough

Champion of the Field (William Bell Tractors Cup): David Gill, Hillsborough

Best Kept Tractor & Plough Sponsored by Mills Oil, Trillick: Stanley Moffatt, Letterbreen