Ideal conditions for ploughing at Kilroot

APART from a slight shower in the morning, weather and ground conditions were ideal for the 104th annual match organised by the Kilroot Agricultural Ploughing Society, held on the lands of Leslie Williamson, Antrim Road, Dunadry.

The judges were William King MBE, Macosquin; David Wallace, Muckamore; David Percy, Randalstown; George Huey, Armoy; Martin Gill, Crossgar and Brian Simpson, Ballycastle.


Class 1 – 12” World Style Conventional;

1, William Hogg, Moneyrea; 2, Samuel Gill, Downpatrick; 3, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus; 4, Allen McAnally, Ballyboley; 5, John Barr, Coleraine; 6, Andrew Gill, Saintfield.

Class 2, Reversible: 1, David Wright, Magherafelt; 2, Adrian Jamison, Ballycastle; 3, Trevor Jones, Loup.

Class 3, Vintage Open: 1, William Gill, Saintfield; 2, James Adair, Ballycorr, Ballyclare; 3, Frankie Davidson, Raloo Village; 4, Raymond Clifford, Larne.

Class 4, Vintage Trail: No Finishers.

Class 5, Classic: 1, Dai Kennedy, Listooder; 2, James Fitchie MBE, Killinchy; 3, David Boyd, Dundonald; 4, Pauline Davison, Killinchy.

Class 6, Vintage Intermediate: 1, Robin Jenkins, Ballyboley; 2, Steven Weatherup, Magheramorne; 3, Dessie Sherlock, Annahilt.

Class 7, Novice: 1, Alistair Beck, Kilkeel; 2, Marc Gamble, Ballynure.

Class 8, Horses: 1, Lindsay Hanna, Saintfield; 2, John Weir junior, Ballyclare.


Best Opening in the Vintage Open and Intermediate Classes, William Gill, Saintfield.

Best Finish in the Vintage Open and Intermediate Classes, James Adair, Ballyclare.

Best Opening in Class 1, 12 inch world style; Ian Simms, Carrickfergus.

Best Finish in Class 1; (tie) William Hogg, Moneyrea and Samuel Gill, Downpatrick.

Best Ins and outs in Class 1; William Hogg.

Best Work by a Competitor under 25 years; Andrew Gill, Saintfield.

Best work by a Competitor residing in County Antrim, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus.

Best Work by a member of the Kilroot Society; Ian Simms.

Best Work by a competitor under 20 years and 17 years; Marc Gamble, Ballynure.

Best Maintained Vintage Tractor; Raymond Clifford, Larne.

Runner Up to the Vintage Champion; James Adair, Ballyclare.

Vintage Champion; William Gill, Saintfield.

Runner Up to the Champion of the Field; William Hogg, Moneyrea

Championship of the Field; David Wright, Magherafelt.

A spokesperson for Kilroot Agricultural Ploughing Society expressed thanks to Mr Leslie Williamson for the use of the land; the judges, competitors and everyone else who helped in any way to make this 104th annual match such a success.