Kesh YFC dinner and prizegiving

In recognition of another successful year within Kesh Young Farmers’ Club the club recently held their dinner dance and prizegiving at the Drumrush Lodge.

The night opened with the president of the club Sandra Beacom welcoming everyone and introducing the top table.

After grace a beautiful meal was served and the club appreciate Bryan and his team at the Drumrush Lodge for their hospitality.

An account of the club events and successes over the year was given by the club leaders Dylan Thompson and George Irvine.

Guest speaker for the evening was Mr David Rowe and his wife, Linda, a previous member of the club.

The members found his address to be encouraging and enlightening with David covering the history of the club. It was lovely to have David and Linda back on home soil.

Hannah Birney, secretary of the club, assisted by Linda Rowe presented the prizes and the results are listed below.

The formal part came to a close with Ryan Donnell, assistant club leader, proposing a vote of thanks. Members danced the night away to DJ Stephen McElhinney.

As part of the YFCU president’s Christmas appeal each member was asked to bring a present to the value of max £10 and all presents are being put together and handed over to disadvantaged children between 0 and 14 years. Charity yet to be chosen. The handover will be taking place on Saturday 12th December across Northern Ireland.

Club Cups 2015



12-14 Dairy – Dara Walker

14-16 Dairy – Lauren Ogle

16-18 Dairy – Hannah Vance

21-25 Dairy – George Irvine


12-14 Sheep – Ellen McDaid

14-16 Sheep – Hannah Birney

21-25 Sheep – Gillian Henderson


12-14 Beef – Jordon Walker

14-16 Beef – Hannah Birney

16-18 Beef – Ryan Donnell

21-25 Beef – Gillian Henderson

Public Speaking


12-14 Prepared – Tommi Loughlin

14-16 Prepared – Sophie Maxwell

This has been a difficult challenge for the committee and this year as the club has had so many new members who have contributed so much to the club. After carefully consideration the results are as follows:

General cups

Best Female Beginner – Cathy Ogle

Best Male Beginner – Ryan Donnell/Craig Humes

Best Female Participant – Sarah McDaid

Best Male Participant – Dylan Thompson

Most Respectful and Charismatic – Nathan kilfedder

Floral Art 12-14 – Cathy Ogle

Floral Art 14-16 – Craig Humes

Floral Art 16-18 – Hannah Birney

Floral Art 25-30 – Beverley Henderson

Ken and Katie Memorial Award to encourage new comers to the stage who show promise for the future- Dara Walker

Owens Crystal Bowl most useful and co-operative member – Taylor Simpson

Best stockjudging

Male under 16 – Dara Walker/Jordon Walker

Female under 16 – Hannah Birney

Male over 16 – Ryan Donnell/George Irvine

Female over 16 – Gillian Henderson

Best competitor - Gillian Henderson/Dara Walker

Silage assessment

12-14 – Alice Dunne

14-16 – Lauren Ogle

21-25 – Gillian Henderson

Silage making - Neal Beacom

Build It Competition - Dylan Thompson, Hannah Birney, Jason Johnston and Gareth Elliott

Presentation and demonstration - Dara Walker and Gillian Henderson

Ulster Young Farmer Junior - Dara Walker