New chairman for NISSA

editorial image

NISSA’s 17th AGM sees Walter Hoy as new chairman. A strong turn out of shearers, judges and friends of the shearing industry attended the meeting in The Royal Hotel, Cookstown.

Prior to the election of office bearers a comprehensive report of the annual accounts was given by treasurer Gareth Kelly.

Following this outgoing chairman William Jones gave a report on the 2014 season, thanking NISSA and its members for their help to all the competitions throughout the year.

He highlighted that the competitions were ran exceptionally well due to the hard work and dedication of NISSA members and thanked everyone for their time and expertise.

He also mentioned the high level of junior shearers; and that training courses appear to be contributing to the level of new and young shearers. This is evident in the Worshipful Company of Woolmen finals with Northern Irish Shearers making the final every year.

In concluding he thanked all the sponsors of all competitions throughout the year, in particular to Net-Tex Colate for their continued sponsorship of the annual circuit.

The election if office bearers for 2014-2015 was as follows: Chairman: Walter Hoy; vice-chair: David O’Neill; secretary:Gerard Kelly (re-election), treasurer: Gareth Kelly (re-election); assistant treasure: Ian Montgomery (new position); public relations: Jayne Harkness-Bones (re-election); Shearer’s &; open representative: Jack Robinson (re-election); senior representative: Finn Butler (re-election); intermediate representative: Stephen Morgan.

Executive: Re-election on block with the automatic addition of outgoing chairman William Jones (John Murphy, Robert Harkness, Brendan kelly, Paul McIlroy and Adrian Caldwell)

The members and committee have an action packed schedule for 2015 including a ‘Chinese Banquet & Race’ on Friday 30th January, tickets are available.

It was agreed to run ‘NISSA Shears’ following the success of this year’s event in which £4,000 was raised for Macmillan Cancer Support. It will again be held in the picturesque grounds of Shane’s Castle Estates (in aid of Macmillan) on Friday 10th July, so make sure and keep the date free.

New chairman Walter Hoy thanked everyone for attending the meeting and Ian Buchanan from the BWMB who kindly gave his time to chair the election of office bearers.

The next meeting will be on Tuesday 17th February 2015. Keep up to date with what’s happening at or the Facebook page