NI Texel Club members celebrate a successful year

Catherine O'Hara and Mary Peacock, NI Children's Hospice accepts a cheque for �2000 from the NI Texel Club raised from part proceeds from the sales of the Texel Club DVD.  Also pictured are committee members Martin Warnock, Martin Cromie and Paul O'Connor.
Catherine O'Hara and Mary Peacock, NI Children's Hospice accepts a cheque for �2000 from the NI Texel Club raised from part proceeds from the sales of the Texel Club DVD. Also pictured are committee members Martin Warnock, Martin Cromie and Paul O'Connor.

The NI Texel Breeders Club members recently gathered at Greenmount Agricultural College for their annual general meeting.

The club’s vice chairman, Martin Cromie welcomed the turnout of members, friends and guest speaker Campbell Hume, Agronomy Specialist-Advisor for Grassland Agro.

The club would like to thank Campbell and Grassland Agro for kindly sponsoring the event.

Proceedings commenced with Mr Cromie and club members presenting cheques to the club’s chosen charities. A cheque for £2000 was presented to Stephen Thompson, Motor Neurone Association from money raised at the club’s annual open night at Paul and Baillie O’Connor’s Drumgooland Flock, Seaforde. The club also presented Catherine O’Hara from the NI Children’s Hospice a cheque for £2000 which was raised from part proceeds through sales of the Club’s DVD “Texel Breeder’s Year”. Mr Henry Gamble accepted a cheque on behalf of the Texel Society for £300 which was donated to the Youth Cancer Trust from money raised at the annual dinner dance.

Mr Hume then went on to give an informative talk on “Maximising the Potential of Your Soil; Plant Nutrition and Soil Quality”. After a short question and answering session vice chairman, Martin Cromie commenced the AGM formalities, with the previous minutes adopted. Martin went on to highlight the club’s successes during 2015 at shows, sales, club activities and events. He thanked all the members who took part in the various competitions throughout the year, highlighting the importance of the sponsors in their continued support, without which the club would be unable to run these events, congratulating those who took home trophies and encouraging the members to compete in 2016.

As part of his resume of events, congratulations were expressed to Alastair Gault, Forkins and Henry Gamble, Springwell for their successes at Balmoral Show and for keeping Texels well to the fore. Paul and Baillie O’Connor were congratulated for their success in the Volac Show Championship Competition with their Drumgooland Flock taking the Overall Championship, and again Alastair Gault’s Forkins Flock, taking Reserve Volac Champion.

Martin went on to comment on the success of the NSA event in Ballymena in July and then the successful open night held in August at Drumgooland. Moving on to the success during sales season specific reference was made to James and Austin Morgan, Drummillar Texels and Gareth Fyffe Botera Texels on their success at the National Premier Sale in Ballymena for their top sale prices.

Congratulations was also extended to Richard Henderson, Ballynahone Texels for his success at the Scottish National Sale, Lanark, for achieving first place in the ram lamb open class and overall male champion. He went on to congratulate Alastair Gault once again for achieving champion with his Forkins Flock in the Annual Flock Competition judged by Charlie Boden and to Michael Smyth, Foyleview on his reserve championship.

Martin paid special thanks to all the members of the committee for their hard work throughout the year, convenors for their hard work at shows and sales and to the judges supporting the club’s activities. He highlighted that without their hard work, support and commitment the club would not be able to function smoothly. The vice chairman also expressed particular thanks to those who sponsored the club throughout the year namely, Danske Bank, Volac Ireland, Bank of Ireland, Farmware Supplies Northern Counties Co-op, Farm Care, Glen Farm Supplies, Smyth Daleside, SH Coleman, Holden Agri & Fuels, Fane Valley, AB Europe Ltd, Mr. Ivan Porter, Osmonds.

Brian McAllister, treasurer, followed the chairman’s report with a detailed report of the year’s accounts 2015 which was agreed as an accurate account of the year’s expenses. Following adoption of both the chairman’s and treasurer’s reports voting took place to replace outgoing committee members Murray Annett, Alastair Gault and Robert Calvin. The club wishes to thank these members for their hard work and support over the last two years and welcome on board new committee members John Trimble, Jean McCollam and Philip Whyte.

The evening finished with Martin Cromie presenting the Chairman’s Trophy to Mrs Barbara Gamble for her service and contribution to the NI Texel Club.


Honorary Presidents: Barbara Gamble, Bangor and Robbie Mulligan, Banbridge

Chairman: Philip Hammond, Cookstown

Vice chair: Martin Cromie, Banbridge

Secretary: Martin Warnock, Limavady

PRO: Barbara Strawbridge, Coleraine

Minutes secretary: Marcus Barton, Lack

Treasurer: Brian McAllister, Kells

Export manager: Martin Warnock, Limavady

Regional director: Henry Gamble, Bangor

Young members’ representative: James Wilkinson

Committee members elected 2016: John Trimble, Newry, Jane McCollam, Crumlin, Philip Whyte, Portglenone

Committee members elected 2015: Richard Henderson, Tobermore, Lesley Beacom, Ballywalter, Adrian Liggett, Seskinore

Committee members elected 2014: Paul O’Connor, Seaforde, Elliot Bell, Rathfriland

The committee would like to remind club members that limited places are available for this year’s club trip to the Yorkshire Show and to secure a place a deposit of £20 is payable to Paul O’Connor or contact club secretary Martin Warnock on 07791679112.