Northern Irish lead the way on pre-sale show at Lanark

Tullagh Yandel
Tullagh Yandel

Northern Irish breeders were to the fore in the pre-sale show at the Scottish National Sale, Lanark, with both the male and overall championship and the reserve male championship taken by lambs from the province.

Claiming top spot were John and Richard Currie with Tullagh Yandel, a Milnbank Womaniser son out of a dam by Gruig Outlaw.

Judge Bruce Renwick then tapped out his female champion, the Bennett family’s gimmer, BFE1505078, as his reserve overall champion, with this one having taken the female championship a little earlier.

Standing reserve male champion was the leader from the performance recorded ram lamb class, Millar’s Yankee from Cyril and Martin Millar. This one, also bred in Northern Ireland, is by Halbeath Victorious and is out of a Stainton Real McCoy daughter.

Reserve in the female championship was the second prize gimmer from John Mellin and family, MJH1504937. She’s by Garngour Vodka and is out of a dam by Sportsmans Terrific II.

Class Results

Shearling Ewes

1 – Messrs Bennett’s BFE1505078

2 – John Mellin’s MJH1504937

3 – Ryan Bradley’s BYK1500169

4 – Robert Pierce’s PRE1500586

5 – Brian Hanthorn’s HBN1501199

Shearling Rams

1 – Harry Griffies’ Cairngryffe Wolverine

2 – Hugh Jackson’s Boat Wonder Boy

Novice Breeders Ram Lambs

1 – Patrick Donnelly’s Donrho Yokel

2 – Charlotte and James Nicolson’s Knockem Yabba Dabba Doo

3 – Michael Mennie’s Westside Yukon Gold

4 – Andrew Renwick’s Blackhouse Yogi

5 – Lisa Jayne Timmis’ Lisa’s Texels Your Highness

Open Ram Lambs

– J and R Currie’s Tullagh Yandel

– Boden and Davies’ Sportsmans Your a Winner

– Procters Farm’s Procters Yabba Dabba Doo

– Ben Vernon’s Charben Yorkie

– Ian Gilmour and Sons’ Humeston Yankee

PRT Ram Lambs

1 – Messrs Millar’s Millar’s Yankee

2 – Claybury Texels’ Claybury Yosemite

3 – Procters Farm’s Procters Yeah Man

4 – J D Houghton’s Tophill Yamamoto

5 – K, A and R Campbell’s Yogi Bear

Group of Three

1 – Messrs Innes

2 – James Miller

3 – Richard Henderson