SAYFC head to Stirling for competition weekend

editorial image

Over 400 members of the Scottish Association of Young Farmer Clubs (SAYFC) headed to Stirling from the 20th–22nd February to take part in one of the largest events in the annual calendar – the National Competitions Weekend.

Commencing with the highly anticipated “Happy Feet” dance contest, ten teams took to the stage to entertain the audience and judges with their own choreographed routine. Performances included a scene from Dirty Dancing, some traditional highland dancing and a special snippet from the Ed Sheeran’s Thinking Out Loud Video. It was great to see all Regions represented within the results – 1st went to Mauchline YFC, 2nd to Aberfeldy JAC and West Renfrewshire YFC and East Aberdeenshire were joint 3rd.

Interviews for the International Programme took place on Saturday morning, offering travel to Montana, Canada, New Zealand, Switzerland, England, Ireland and Wales to name just a few destinations.

The Member of the Year interviews followed; an award that is regarded as one of the most prestigious by Scottish Young Farmers. The judges look for someone who has made a significant contribution to the association via their own club, district and/or at National level. They try to gain an understanding of how they have embraced the movement, how they plan to continuing contributing in the year ahead, and what it will mean to them to if they were selected as winner.

It was the Ayr Young Farmer’s current secretary Miss Lizzie McJannet who came out on top. Lizzie lives at East Enoch Farm, Maybole, South Ayrshire and works as a Primary teacher at a local school. Closely followed by a well deserved Runner up from West Aberdeenshire District (Inverurie Club); Mr Duncan Morrison who is current District Chairman and sits on National Council, from Upper Ingliston Farm at Inverurie. In overall 3rd place was Joe Cameron of Lanarkshire’s East Kilbride Club and has the current position of club secretary and has been to Wales with SAYFC Agri & Rural affairs committee in the past. The results were presented at The Fubar Nightclub on the Saturday evening in front of an extremely busy crowd!

While on the other side of town, the Ten Pin Bowling saw 16 club teams take to the alleys to battle it out to be crowned the overall champion, a prize that was taken home by Loch Lomond YFC. King Pin of the Competition went to Robbie Murdoch from Loch Lomond YFC.

Hockey followed on Sunday morning where nine teams took to the pitch in the pouring rain to determine who would take first place. The rain didn’t halt throughout the full competition but this didn’t dampen the team’s enthusiasm. Coming out on top was West Renfrewshire A YFC, with West Renfrewshire B YFC being our runners up Bell Baxter ADS were placed 3rd.

The weekend concluded with Senior Speechmaking and Quiz. Talking their way to the top were Mauchline YFC and picking up the Quiz trophy for the second year in a row was Stranraer & Rhins YFC. Thank you to Muller Wiseman Dairies for sponsoring this competition.

Laura Fleming, national chairperson said: “Weekend was a huge success with around 300 members in attendance on Friday and 400 on Saturday. It was great to see members from the 3 Regions compete in all of the competitions as well as socialise with each other.

We had a great uptake of members apply for both the International Exchange programme and European Rally. There was a great buzz throughout the weekend with dances being extremely well supported.

The one off ‘Happy Feet’ dance competition on Friday was a great way to kick start to the weekend with 10 teams competing and entertaining the crowds with 3 minute performances.

The lineup of finalists for member of the year was once again strong across the Regions making it a hard decision for the 3 judges.

Our newly crowned member of the year, Elizabeth McJannet of Ayr YFC, showed great commitment and involvement to the YF movement. She will be a great role model to our members throughout her time as member of the year.”

National ‘Happy Feet’ contest

1st – Mauchline YFC

2nd – Aberfeldy & District JAC

3rd – East Aberdeenshire District & West Renfrewshire YFC

National Ten Pin Bowling

1st – Loch Lomond YFC (Robert McLellan, William Murdoch, Robbie Murdoch, Robert Wood, Ellis Kinloch and Ian Dick)

2nd – Kilmaurs YFC (Andrew Wilson, Andrew Muir, Claire Cuthbertson, Ryan Torrance, Nicole Crawley and Taylor Holloway)

3rd – Brechin JAC (Jeff Yarr, Kevin Zimmerman, Luke Yarr, Stewart Lawrie, Robin Norrie and Jodie Jackson)

National Member of the Year

Winner – Lizzie McJannet, Ayr YFC (Ayrshire District)

2nd place – Duncan Morrison, Inverurie JAC (West Aberdeenshire District)

3rd place – Joe Cameron, East Kilbride YFC (Lanarkshire District)

National Hockey

1st – West Renfrewshire A (Jamie Telfer, Callum Walker, William Miller, Jessica McKee, Robert Baxter, Greg Lee, Emma Ormond and Linsay Mitchell)

2nd – West Renfrewshire B (Linsey Campbell, Eilidh Wilson, Charlotte Walker, Craig Stewart, Iain Ritchie, James Muir, Paul Carruth and Fraser Miller)

3rd – Bell Baxter ADS (Matt Jack, Sandy Dawson, James Robertson, Nicola Howat, Katie Robertson, Louise Howat, Andy Rennie and Fraser Howie)

National Senior Speechmaking

1st – Mauchline YFC (James Gemmell, Jennifer Nisbet, Graeme Wallace & Julie Clark)

2nd – Avondale YFC (Stuart Anderson, Janet Anderson, Gayle Allan, Robert McKechnie)

3rd - Turriff JAC (Kim Taylor, Elaine Duguid, Murray Stephen & Andrew Dalgarno)

Best Chairman – Kim Taylor (Turriff JAC)

Best Proposer – Janet Anderson (Avondale YFC)

Best Opposer – John Howatson (Machars YFC)

Best Arbiter – Robert McKechnie (Avondale YFC)

National Quiz

1st - Stranraer & Rhins YFC (32) – Danny Hair, Andrew Sharp, Carolyn Fisher and Craig Wilson

2nd – Kinross JAC (31) - David Lawrie, Ian Cullens, Jamie McLaren and Ian Buchanan

3rd - Turriff JAC (19) – Andrew Dalgarno, Elaine Duguid, Steven Penrice and Murray Green