Silverware galore for Charolais members

Charolais youth at Club Dinner Front Orlagh Caoimhe & Eimear McGovern back row Matthew Mitchell Adama & Philip Johnston & Alan Burleigh
Charolais youth at Club Dinner Front Orlagh Caoimhe & Eimear McGovern back row Matthew Mitchell Adama & Philip Johnston & Alan Burleigh

The Northern Ireland Charolais Club Annual Dinner took place in the Valley Hotel Fivemiletown.

The special guest on this occasion was Mr Nigel Kearney from the Helping Hand Charity Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children.

The Awards were presented by Mrs Shirley Bothwell:

November Sale 2013

Lambeg Cup - Cecil McIlwaine - Corrick Honey

Auctioneers Silver Salver - Cecil McIlwaine - Corrick Honey

Ulster Bank Rose Bowl - Victor Chestnutt – Bushmills Harley

March Sale 2014

The Millar Trophy - K C Veitch – Drumlone Hunter

Northern Bank Salver - K C Veitch – Drumlone Hunter

First Trust Bank Salver - B McAllister & Son – Burnside Hadam

April Sale 2014

The Simpson Trophy - S & D Bothwell – Killadeas Harper

May Sale 2014

The Elmpark Cup - B McAllister & Son – Burnside Iceberg


THE BARDIN TROPHY - Paddy Gallagher – Rumsden Fawkes


THE ORAGE TROPHY - G J Crawford - Coolnaslee Helga

H A CURRY CUP - B McAllister & Son - Burnside Iceman

JOHN K CURRIE CUP - G J Crawford – Coolnaslee Helga

Stock judging

MCALLISTER SHIELD - Adult section - Andrew Burleigh

MILLAR SHIELD – Junior section - Matthew Mitchell

UK Stock Judging Trophy - Caoimhe McGovern

National Charolais Show

ROBERT SCOTT SHIELD Male Champion -G J Crawford - Coolnaslee Ivanhoe

DESMOND ANDERSON MEMORIAL CUP Female Champion-Jack Smyth - Bessiebell Incredible

MCALLISTER LIVESTOCK TROPHY Commercial Champion - Alan Veitch

ANIMAX CUP Champion Young Handler - Philip Johnston

FAIRWAY TROPHY - Caoimhe & Eimear McGovern For the winning pair


For the exhibitor with the highest points Intermediate section (277 points)

Club Appreciation:

Club chairman David welcomed members and friends and thanked them for their support at club events.

He appreciated their support at four pedigree sales, Balmoral Show, the MINSUPS qualifying shows and the Grand Final at Clogher Valley and National Show at Fintona, all those who took suckled calves to the 10 shows across the province.

David emphasized the important of the Charolais Youth and the Young Handling and Stock Judging events, the wonderful success that the young people had this year at regional and UK level. He congratulated all those young people who competed and especially Caoimhe and Eimear McGovern who brought back two UK trophies to Northern Ireland.

In his address he spoke of the dedication and support given by 35 sponsors. Without this financial support many events would simply not happen. He thanked them for continuing to invest in the NI Charolais breed.

He also acknowledged the generosity of the British Charolais Society who match fund the main championships and suckled calf shows. The club does its best to get as much mileage as possible for all the sponsors and thank the farming press for their continued coverage of all the events.

To the committee members for attending monthly meetings and helping to set up for shows and sales, and to the NI Charolais Club members and friends for all their hard work at events.

He thanked the judges of sales and shows and our team of young judges who are lined up to judge the 10 suckled calf shows, and all those who gave of their expertise at stock judging practices and the NI competition hosted by Gilbert Crawford.

The club appreciates some of the senior members attending shows to give support to new judges. He concluded by thanking The Valley Hotel for a beautiful meal, all rounded off by with excellent music provided by Cathy McGovern.

A vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Brian McAllister on behalf of the breeders. He thanked the Charolais club committee for organizing the shows sales and events throughout the year.

He also thanked the secretary Ann Orr for all her hard work in co-ordinating the annual events.