Fabulous final at Ecclesville

The final of the fourth of Ecclesville's Showjumping Leagues for 2016 was held on 9 September and it was again very competitive, as even more competitors had qualified for the prizes.

Friday, 16th September 2016, 9:48 am
Updated Wednesday, 5th October 2016, 2:38 pm
Winners from 60cm class
Winners from 60cm class

With the new Super League underway the top six in each class also won valuable points, as at the end of 2016, in each class from 60cm through to 1.10cm, a perpetual trophy will be awarded to rider and horse combination with the most points.

The many spectators were treated to great displays of showjumping as the competitors had to be both careful and speedy to negotiate Raymond Caldwell’s challenging courses! RD Equestrian had also kindly sponsored the Turnout prizes for the final, so this was an added bonus for the riders and grooms.

For the second time in 2016, the winner of the 60cm was Tiana-Grace Abbott riding her lovely pony, Henry. Zara-Jane Kelly picked up the red ribbon in the 70cm class riding the very talented Zack. She also picked up second place with Robin.

Another very talented rider, Freya Sayle won the 80cm class on Monty and the 90cm class on the spectacular Fenaghbeg Ever.

The 1m class was won by Joan Maxwell riding Roxy. Danielle McLaughlin and Santa Mear took the top spot in the 1.10 class to round off a very entertaining evening of jumping.


40cm Class (Double Clears): Ethan Kavanagh and Deano; Kalie-Ann McManus and Mrs Bee.

60cm Class (Double Clears): Mary Kate Rice and Horizon Star; Sasha Milne and Buddy; Ethan Kavanagh and Deano; Tiana-Grace Abbott and Henry; Lucie-Ann Abbott and Rosie; Callum Hoey and Silver; Mary Kate Rice and Spot; Sarah Boyle and Starry Night; Aoife Straume and Ria; Erin Straume and Fonya; Emily Marshall and Mallon; Zara-Jane Kelly and Zack

70cms (Double Clears): Gillian Hynes and Bart; Amy Mclaughlin and Danny; Sophie Gurney and Chelsea Girl; Tiana-Grace Abbott and Henry; Lucie-Ann Abbott and Rosie; Callum Hoey and Silver; Zara-Jane Kelly and Zack; Andrea Lilley and Fudge; Freya Sayle and Tara; Lucy McCann and Annie Mac; Darragh Rice and Flaming Nora; Sarah Boyle and Starry Night; Zara-Jane Kelly and Robin; Aoife Straume and Ria; Emily Marshall and Mallon; Mary-Kate Rice and Horizon Star; Erin Straume and Fonya; Mairead Smith and Freddy; Chloe Mitchell and Softie; Zara-Jane Kelly and Blondie; Clare Maxwell and Smokie; Aoife McCabe and Mrs Bee; Jeni Lyons and Blue

80cms (Double Clears): Katie Clarke and Blue; Zara-Jane Kelly and Robin; Mairead Smith and Freddie; Freya Sayle and Tara; Natalie Somerville and Beauty; Nadia Donnelly and Benny; Zara-Jane Kelly and Millie; Clare Maxwell and Smokie; Freya Sayle and Monty

90cms (Double Clears): Clara Daly and Scarlett’s Harry; Zara-Jane Kelly and Millie; Lisa McFarland and Magic; Joan Maxwell and Roxy; Emma Quigley and Perfect Promise; Clara Daly and Minstrel; Freya Sayle and Fenaghbeg Ever

1m (Double Clears): Roisin Donnelly and Ria; Joan Maxwell and Roxy

1.10m (Double Clears): Roisin Donnelly and Ria; Danielle McLaughlin and Santa Mear

League results:

60cm: 1st Tiana-Grace Abbott and Henry; 2nd Aoife Straum and Ria; 3rd Lucy-Ann Abbott and Rosie; 4th Erin Straume and Fonya; 5th Sarah Boyle and Starry Night; 6th Lucy McCann and Annie Mac; Amy McLaughlin and Danny (Turnout prize)

70cm: 1st Zara-Jane Kelly and Zack; 2nd Zara-Jane Kelly and Robin 3rd Clare Maxwell and Smokie; 4th Freya Sayle and Tara; 5th Tiana-Grace Abbott and Henry; 6th Lucy-Ann Abbott and Rosie; Gillian Hynes and Bart (Turnout prize)

80cm: 1st Freya Sayle and Monty; 2nd Zara-Jane Kelly and Millie; 3rd Zara-Jane Kelly and Robin; 4th Clare Maxwell and Smokie; 5th Nadia Donnelly and Benny; 6th Freya Sayle and Tara; Ciara Owens and Lady T (Turnout Prize)

90cm: 1st Freya Sayle and Fenaghbeg Ever; 2nd Clara Daly and Minstrel; 3rd Zara-Jane Kelly and Millie; 4th Lisa McFarland and Magic; 5th Joan Maxwell and Roxy; 6th Emma Quigley and Perfect Promise; Freya Sayle and Monty (Turnout Prize)

1m: 1st Joan Maxwell and Roxy (Turnout Prize); 2nd Freya Sayle and Fenaghbeg Ever; 3rd Clara Daly and Mr Grey; 4th Danielle McLaughlin and Santa Mear; 5th Roisin Donnelly and Venus

1.10: 1st Danielle McLaughlin and Santa Mear (Turnout prize); 2nd Roisin Donnelly and Venus

The final league for 2016 is scheduled to start on 11 November. For further details please contact Sandra on 07990 541 966 or Ecclesville on 028 8284 0591.