Kiera '˜Rocks On' at Loughanmore

Fifteen year old Banbridge schoolgirl, Kiera Malcolmson, had plenty to smile about on Saturday when she won the EI900P class with Rockon Pedro on just their second outing.

Friday, 16th September 2016, 9:44 am
Updated Wednesday, 5th October 2016, 1:45 pm

Sitting second after dressage, the combination benefitted from the showjumping elimination of the early leader, Katie McKee, and they added just minimal cross country time penalties to their first phase score to claim the red rosette and finish over four points clear of second placed Shanie Murphy on Kilbeg Tommy.

As usual, the Loughanmore Estate was looking resplendent in the sunshine which graced the Co Antrim venue for most of the day. Adam Stevenson had designed four testing tracks which were decorated to perfection. Aaron McCusker, resident Showjumping Course Designer for the Northern Region, also provided some challenging courses which impacted on the results.

Emma Jackson, who made a welcome come back at Ballyvannon, certainly made her presence felt with a double win. She swept to victory in the Advance CNC2* class with her Amiro M mare, Amy B and also took top place in the O/CNC1*class with the Ronnie Hollinger bred stallion, Creevagh For Sure.

The CNC2* class was won by Jonathan Steele riding Katrina Mackie’s eight year old gelding, Mr Green who made up considerable ground from the first phase following a clean showjumping record and added just in excess of a single cross country time penalty. Colin Halliday took the runner up spot with Dancing Fox, Harold Lusk’s eight year old gelding by Nigrasine, the only other combination in the class to go clear showjumping.

While Ella Boyle was off doing squad training, she entrusted her delightful six year old Hermes de Reve gelding, Killadeas, to Harold Megahey who put in a super performance to win a highly competitive CNC1* class finishing on an amazing dressage score of 20.5. Emma Jackson took second place with Silken Allure, also finishing on her first phase mark.

The CNCJ1* class saw sibling rivalry from the Riley family where Katie rose to the fore this week, repeating her performance at Tullylish, with Versace Biscuit.

Second place went to Ballyvannon and Maddybenny winner, Chloe Rooney and Molly May.

The One star Amateur class saw Michael McGaffin climb an amazing seven places after dressage to take the win on Ferros Diablo, a combination that have been showing consistent form over the last few events and were the only pair to keep all Aaron McCusker’s poles intact. Lynne Ireland took second place with Blackwood Quantum Rebel.

Meantime, Robyn McCluskey maintained her good form in the CNCP2* class with a win again this week on Creemully Melody. Laoise O’Farrell slotted in behind on Monlough Meteor and Jessica McConnell with Finding Nemo took third spot.

Camella McDowell certainly ‘Touched Gold’ in the EI100 Amateur class where she finished on her very impressive first phase score almost eight points ahead of Beth Murray and Kit N Kaboodle.

The biggest class of the day was the EI100 class where Elaine O’Connor was a very popular winner with the lovely homebred mare, Tullymurry Holly. Sarah Ennis slipped in behind in second place with Cooley Cosmopolitan Diamond.

Once again Hollie Smith proved her horsemanship skills in the EI100J where she was victorious with Hill Dancer, just ahead of Isabella Hughes and Lyleview on Time.

There was great celebrating in the Johnston household at Richhill following Lucy’s win on Tynan Mist in the EI100P class where four jumping faults proved expensive for the early leader Noah Brown on Jimmy Thunderstruck who had to settle for runner up.

Co Meath’s Sarah Ennis completed her competition placings with a win in the EI 90 class on board her five year old gelding, Brookfield Sensation. Camilla Manningham-Buller took second place with Me and You, a mare by Definite Article.

Undoubtedly, the prize for the most delighted winner has to be awarded to Heather McMillan who was euphoric with glee upon discovering that she was the top EI90 Amateur this week. Riding Cullion Fitzherbert, she held onto her early dressage lead and, despite lowering a coloured pole, she took the top award over three points clear of Judith McCarthy, no stranger to the podium with her veteran skewbald gelding, Mixed Up.

Once again, sincere thanks to the Dennison Family for hosting this very special event and to all the stalwart volunteers who did sterling work ensuring that all three phases ran smoothly.

Next week sees the entourage move northwards again for the second visit this year to Finvoy, courtesy of Mr and Mrs Alan Campbell.

Full results


Emma Jackson, Amy B

Nicola Ennis, Westwinds Jack of Hearts

Steven Smith, Bonito

Nicola Ennis, Fortmoy Cusha


Jonathan Steele, Mr Green

Colin Halliday, Danceing Fox

Steven Smith, EMS Florence

Justine Harding, MJI Wendy

Cathal Daniels, Greenfort Flight Master

Clare Steele, R Junior


Emma Jackson, Creevagh For Sure

Stephen Swift, Swift Edition


Harold Megahey, Killadeas

Emma Jackson, Silken Allure

Shannon Nelson, Commanchero

Victoria Clarke, Red Curacao

Hannah Wenteges, Ballinabarney Somerton

Cathal Daniels, Millridge Socrates


Katie Riley, Versace Biscuit

Chloe Rooney, Molly May

Hannah Blakely, Sportsfield Ruby

Izzy Riley, Ballycarron Lad

Robyn McCluskey, Rum Jumbie

Andrew Turley, The Devil’s Bit

CNC1* Amateur

Michael McGaffin, Ferros Diablo

Lynne Ireland, Blackwood Quantum Rebel

Joy Lindsay, Lassban Au-Revoir

Florence Campbell, Imperial Master

Nicky Nesbitt, Ringfort India

Caroline Mcquillan


Robyn McCluskey, Creemully Melody

Laoise O’Farrell, Monlough Meteor

Jessica McConnell, Finding Nemo

EI 100 Amateur

Camella McDowell, Touching Gold

Beth Murray, Kit N Kaboodle

Lesley-Anne Lyons, Rupert Bear

Stephie Jackson, Ballela Road

Grainne Baxter, Cillbhrid Splash

Gemma Elkin, Tupele


Elaine O’Connor, Tullymurry Holly

Sarah Ennis, Cooley Cosmopolitan Diamond

Lisa Dundee, Murphy’s Harlequin

Sarah Ennis, Westwinds Navigator

Casey Webb, Michel M

Trevor Smith, Ballyartan Contessa


Hollie Smith, Hill Dancer

Isabella Hughes, Lyleview On Time

Justine Harding, Charissma

Aoife Carr, Kaleidoscope

Patrick Mackie, Carneyhaugh Conquistador

Lauren Johnston, That’s My Guy


Lucy Johnston, Tynan Mist

Noah Brown, Jimmy Thunderstruck

Ben Rowlatt-McCormick, Mon Ami Tonnerre

Jessica McConnell, My Gypsy Rose

Ruari Clarke, Black Velvet Band

Rocco Quinn, Knockagarron Fear Bui Princess


Sarah Ennis, Brookfield Sensation

Camilla Manningham Buller, Me and You

Elizabeth Hayden, Langtons Choice

Colin Halliday, Enniskeane Duke

Suzanne Hagan, Honeyhill Caramel

Lucy Lamont, Daunting Melody

EI90 Amateur

Heather McMillan, Cullion Fitzherbert

Judith McCarthy, Mixed Up

Lindsay Martin, Bartez

Ellen Graham, Lisfunchion Chinook

Stephen Martin, Butterscotch Major

Iona Kane, Seavaghan Redwing


Kiera Malcolmson, Rockon Pedro

Shanie Murphy, Kilbeg Tommy

Cerys Howell, Wivollet Something Special

Ellie Parkhill, Alland Mac U no

Sara Topley, Tipp Jen

Gillian Grogan, Heaven Sent.