Henry elected chairman at annual meeting

editorial image

The South East Fermanagh AGM took place on Thursday, February 5, in the Donn Carragh, Lisnaskea.

Barclay Bell, deputy president of Ulster Farmers’ Union, conducted the election of officers which saw Mr Henry Mayne elected as group chairman.

Stephen Johnston was elected as deputy chairman. The following commodity representatives were appointed: beef and lamb – David Henderson; milk – John Fleming, pork and bacon – Gary Agnew; Poultry – Stephen Wilson, Rural Enterprise – Stephen Johnston, hill farming – Norman Read, seeds and cereal – Barry Read, rural affairs – Barbara Wilson, legislation committee – Darren McCormick, rural development – Tom Crawford.

These members represent the local group on the commodity committees.

The group would like to thank the outgoing chairman, Mr Gary Agnew and all the other office bearers.

Barclay Bell gave an update on issues in each committee and how they work and also highlighted the value of our local technical officer, Mr Leslie Craig, and the achievements he has made for local members. Leslie is usually in the Enniskillen office each Thursday, members are encouraged to avail of his services if they have any issues.

The Enniskillen agency is hosting a first aid course on 18th March and a Farm Safety course on 27th February. Both of these courses have recognised qualifications. Contact the office on 028 6632 6622 to book a place.

Congratulations to South West Group manager, Paddy Keaney on his recent marriage.

There is a fundraising appeal for Albert’s grandson, Theo McClelland. Visit www.justgiving.com/theosjourney.

The group wish all new office bearers every success in the next two years.