National Television Awards: full list of winners

Ant and Dec, Suranne Jones and Paul O'Grady were among the big winners at last night's National Television Awards.

Comic duo Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly shared the award for Best TV presenter and The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award.

I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here, presented by the pair, was named the Best Challenge Show.

An emotional McPartlin admitted that the award "means more this year than any other year". His words come after the breakdown of his marriage and a stint in rehab.

Support of equal and fair representation of women

Other notable winners include Suranne Jones who won the award for Best Drama Performance for her performance as Gemma Foster in BBC drama Doctor Foster.

The actress sported a black velvet suit and a 50/50 badge in support of equal and fair representation of women at the awards.

Suranne Jones picked up the award for best drama performance (Photo: BBC)

Speaking on Instagram, Jones stated her reason for wearing the badge.

"It’s about an equal and fair representation of women in society: better roles: 3 dimensional characters: inspirational stories: showing ALL women represented in a full and inspiring way."

Blue Planet II picks up Impact Award

Sir David Attenborough and the Blue Planet II team were also recognised, picking up the Impact Award.

The veteran presenter and narrator praised the crew of the show for their commitment.

The 91-year-old admitted his delight at the public's response to the show.

"All we were trying to do is raise an issue that is of great importance to this country and worldwide," he said. "This is what we are doing to our planet and if our television programme helps stir the consciences of people round the world then all of us will be very pleased."

Meanwhile, comedian Johnny Vegas caused a stir for his response to missing out on the Best Comedy award.

As Peter Kay's Car Share was announced as the winner, rather than Vegas' Benidorm, the Merseyside-born comedian stood up and shouted "you b*****d!"

Fans were split over whether Vegas' outburst was serious or for comedic effect.

Peter Kay was unable to pick up the award, but co-star Sian Gibson took to the stage instead.

The actress said of Kay's absence: "He's gutted he can't be here tonight but he sends his love, he'll be over the moon so we're going to go and phone him."

Full list of winners

Drama Performance - Suranne Jones (Doctor Foster)Drama - Doctor FosterImpact Award - David Attenborough and the Blue Planet II teamCrime Drama - BroadchurchComedy - Peter Kay's Car ShareFactual Entertainment Programme - GoggleboxTV Presenter - Ant and DecDaytime Programme - This MorningThe Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award - Ant and Dec's Saturday Night TakeawayTV Judge - David Walliams (Britain's Got Talent)Challenge Show - I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here!Newcomer - Danny Walters (EastEnders)Serial Drama Performance - Lucy Fallon (Coronation Street)Talent Show - Strictly Come DancingSpecial Recognition Award - Paul O'GradySerial Drama - Emmerdale